Laveau House Legend has it
that MarieLaveau lived in a house at 1020 St. Ann Street.
The World's Most Haunted Places best known and most revered
practitioner of voodoo in the city, and some say the "founder"
of New Orleans voodoo, was Marie Laveau, a free woman of color
born in 1794 in Haiti. Laveau was also a devout Catholic;
it was this unique blending of Voodoo rituals and Catholicism
that would differentiate New Orleans voodoo from other forms
of the practice.
About 1875 the original
Marie Laveau I, bereft of her youth and memory, became confined
to her home on Rue St. Ann and did not leave until claimed
by death some six years later. "It was then,"
reports Tallant (1946, 73), "that the strangest part
of the entire Laveau mystery became most noticeable. For
Marie Laveau still walked the streets of New Orleans, a
new Marie Laveau II , who also lived in the St. Ann Street
The Encyclopedia of Ghosts
and Spirits asserts: "One popular legend holds that
Marie I never died, but changed herself into a huge black
crow which still flies over the cemetery." Indeed,
"Both Maries are said to haunt New Orleans in various
human and animal forms" (Guiley 2000). Note the anonymity
inherent in such phrases as "popular legend" and
the passive-voice construction "are said to."
In addition to her tomb, Marie also allegedly haunts other
sites. For example, according to Hauck (1996), "Laveau
has also been seen walking down St. Ann Street wearing a
long white dress." Providing a touch of what literary
critics call verisimilitude (an appearance of truth), Hauck
adds, "The phantom is that of the original Marie, because
it wears her unique tignon, a seven-knotted handkerchief,
around her neck." But Hauck has erred: Marie in fact
"wore a large white headwrap called a tignon tied around
her head," says her biographer Gandolfo (1992, 19),
which had "seven points folded into it to represent
a crown." Gandolfo, who is also an artist, has painted
a striking portrait of Marie Laveau wearing her tignon,
which is displayed in the gift shop of his New Orleans Historic
Voodoo Museum (and reproduced in Gandolfo 1992, 1).
With a bit of literary
detective work we can track the legend-making process in
one instance of Laveau ghostlore. In his Haunted Places:
The National Directory, Hauck (1996) writes of Marie: "Her
ghost and those of her followers are said to practice wild
voodoo rituals in her old house. . . ." But are said
to by whom? His list of sources for the entry on Marie Laveau
includes Susy Smith's Prominent American Ghosts (1967),
his earliest-dated citation. Smith merely says of Marie,
"Her home at 1020 St. Ann Street was the scene of weird
secret rites involving various primitive groups," and
she asks, "May not the wild dancing and pagan practices
still continue, invisible, but frantic as ever?" Apparently
this purely rhetorical question about imaginary ghosts has
been transformed into an "are-said-to"-sourced
assertion about supposedly real ones. In fact, the house
at 1020 St. Ann Street was never even occupied by Marie
Laveau; it only marks the approximate site of the home she
lived in until her death (then numbered 152 Rue St. Ann,
as shown by her death certificate). That cottage, which
bore a red-tile roof and was flanked by banana trees and
an herb garden, was demolished in 1903 (Gandolfo 1992, 14-15,
Many of the tales of
Marie Laveau's ghost, if not actually invented by tour guides,
may be uncritically promulgated by them. According to Frommer's
New Orleans 2001, "We enjoy a good nighttime ghost
tour of the Quarter as much as anyone, but we also have
to admit that what's available is really hit-or-miss in
presentation (it depends on who conducts your particular
tour) and more miss than hit with regard to facts"
(Herczog 2000). Even the author of New Orleans Ghosts II-hardly
a knee-jerk debunker-speaks of the "hyperbolic balderdash"
which sometimes "spews forth from the black garbed
tour guides who are more interested in money and sensationalism
than accurate historical research" (Klein 1999).
One alleged Laveau ghost sighting stands out. Tallant (1946,
130-131) relates the story of an African-American named
Elmore Lee Banks, who had an experience near St. Louis Cemetery
No. 1. As Banks recalled, one day in the mid-1930s "an
old woman" came into the drugstore where he was a customer.
For some reason she frightened the proprietor, who "ran
like a fool into the back of the store." Laughing,
the woman asked, "Don't you know me?" She became
angry when Banks replied, "No, ma'am," and slapped
him. Banks continued: "Then she jump[ed] up in the
air and went whizzing out the door and over the top of the
telephone wires. She passed right over the graveyard wall
and disappeared. Then I passed out cold." He awakened
to whiskey being poured down his throat by the proprietor
who told him, "That was Marie Laveau."
Some believe Laveau materializes
annually to lead the faithful in worship on St. John's Eve.
The ghost is always recognizable, they say, thanks to the
knotted handkerchief she wears around her neck. A man once
claimed to have been slapped by her while walking past her
tomb. It is also said that Laveau’s former home at 1020
St. Ann Street is also among the French Quarter’s many
haunted locales. Believers claim to have seen her spirit,
accompanied by those of her followers, engaged in Voodoo ceremonies
Read More Here: MARIE
LAVEAU The Voodoo
Queen of New Orleans
This cemetery is the final resting place for the greats of
Hollywood's Golden Age. A few are still around, so it seems.
Rudolph Valentino has been seen near his cript as well as
the ghost of Clifton Webb. Other sightings, cold spots etc..
are found all over. Pay attention to the grave of forgotten
actress Virginia Rappe where a sad ghost has been seen weeping.
You can pick up a map of the stars graves at the flower shop
at the entrance to the cemetery.
Hollywood Forever Cemetery is located at 6000 Santa Monica
Boulevard in the Hollywood district of the City of Los Angeles,
California. It is adjacent to the north wall, or back, of
Paramount Studios, who, with RKO Studios, bought 40 acres
by 1920. The Beth Olam Cemetery, which can be found in the
southwestern section of the cemetery, was set aside for members
of Hollywood's Jewish community.
Founded in 1899 on 100 acres as Hollywood Memorial Park Cemetery,
by the latter part of the 20th century it had become quite
run down. Allegations of financial mismanagement caused the
state of California to forbid the sale of plots. On the verge
of closure in a bankruptcy proceeding, the Forever Enterprises
purchased it in 1998, renamed it "Hollywood Forever,"
and restored and refurbished it.
Among those interred or entombed in the cemetery are a number
of important personalities, famous persons, including men
and women from the entertainment industry, important people
in the history of Los Angeles, and their relatives. Some of
the tombs are quite lavish.
Burials continue to occur from time to time. The longtime
ban on the sale of plots was rescinded when the Forever Network
restored the cemetery, which has meant that plenty of space
for future graves remains.
During the summer, movies are screened at the cemetery. Hundreds
of people come armed with beach chairs and picnics to view
films projected onto the side of one of the buildings.
There is a documentary about this place titled "The
Young and the Dead".
78. San Antonio
San Antonio is world-famous as the home of the Mission San
Antonio de Valero (otherwise known as "The Alamo").
If you are planning to travel in the state of Texas, do yourself
a favor and plan to spend several days in this beautiful city.
I highly recommend an after-dark tour of the river on the
Ghost Railroad Tracks
San Antonio ... Is it an urban legend, or do the ghosts of
children k... San Antonio ... Is it an urban legend, or do
the ghosts of children killed in a bus crash in 1948 push
your car over the railroad tracks where they once died?
Downtown San Antonio
Not surprisingly, the spirits of those involved in that famous
battle have opted to stick around, but they are not the only
ones. The original incarnation of the Alamo was the Mission
San Antonio de Valero, and when Santa Ana ordered it destroyed,
the deceased monks supposedly reached through the walls and
threatened the troops assigned to its destruction. To this
day there are reports of strange creatures and apparitions
dancing or walking along its outer wall. The plaza in front
of it is reportedly haunted as well.
There are two major reasons for all of the activity in the
downtown area of San Antonio.
One, is because of the burial ground that was used between
1724 and 1793 that takes up most of what is Alamo Plaza today.
There are probably about a thousand people that were buried
in this area. 954 are recorded in Spanish records from the
Two, is because of the actual battle, where people died a
violent death or before their time. When Santa Anna left SA
to go to San Jacinto with about 1500 troops, he left about
1,000 men in SA to keep control of the area for him under
the command of General Andrade. Because the bodies of the
Texas defenders were burned in two or three locations around
the Alamo grounds, General Andrade moved his troops about
a mile or two out of SA and set up camp. When Santa Anna was
captured at San Jacinto, it was reported that he got off a
couple of messengers. He ordered Andrade to move his troops
south of the Rio Grande, but before he was to leave SA he
was to go into the Alamo and totally destroy the Alamo chapel.
Santa Ann hated the Alamo for a couple of reasons. One, he
lost about 1,600 troops taking the place in 1836 and two,
his brother-in-law, General Cos had been run off with the
1,100 troops he had there in late 1835 by about 300 Texas
General Andrade started to organize his troops for the march
to the Rio Grande and he ordered Colonel Sanchez to go to
the Alamo and destroy it. It was reported that the Colonel
returned to camp rather quickly with a story about six Diablos,
or ghostly looking devils coming out of the front doors of
the Alamo and waving flaming sabers over their heads and yelling,
"Do not touch the Alamo, do not touch these walls."
General Andrade thought that this story was ridiculous and
he got a group of men to go with him to destroy the Alamo.
When he got there, he also saw the same six ghosts. Now a
lot of people want to think that these six ghosts were the
ghosts of the most famous people involved in the battle. The
ghosts of Bowie, Crockett, Bonham and Travis. I even get into
arguments with people about the fact that I do not believe
that the ghost of John Wayne was there too. Anyway, the General
also looks over at the long barracks and sees the image of
a person that is larger than life and has their hands up in
the air with balls of fire in their hands. This is one of
the images that is depicted on the Cenotaph (the Alamo defenders
monument that is located in Alamo Plaza). It is the image
of the spirit of sublime heroic sacrifice and it is given
credit with saving the Alamo from physical destruction. The
story goes that when the ethereal energy was released from
the flames of the fires that burned the bodies of the Alamo
defenders, this spirit used that energy to manifest itself,
make itself visible, to scare away intruders of the Alamo
As far as the plaza hauntings that I know about. The report
of the six ghosts and the spirit of sublime heroic sacrifice
is widely known as the first reported ghost sightings at the
Alamo. But there were also reports that two women were walking
across the Mission grounds back in the 1700's, right about
where the Plaza is today and they were struck by lightning.
One died and the other survived. There are reports today,
by people that work in the plaza on a daily basis that they
have seen a ghostly woman walking across the plaza. It just
might be the person killed by lightning. Just talk to some
of the people that sell snow cones in the plaza.
This information provided by Martin Leal of Alamo City Paranormal.
Alamo Street Restaurant & Theater
"Miss Margaret" shows up in the choir loft in Victorian
dress. She is believed to be Margaret Gething, an actress
who lived just a few blocks away.
Haunted Tales from Florida’s
sun kissed beaches abound and would not be complete without
the treasure of all haunting's, Haunted Key West. Where
else might generations of ghostly cats try to steal your
soul or Robert the Haunted Doll try to follow you home?
From artists who
still linger in Victorian era homes, and long dead morticians
who still attempt to practice their craft on less than
willing victims, or the unrelenting spirit of Elvira who
likes to hang around the famous Hanging Tree in the middle
of Captain Tony's famous bar, Key West is brimming with
the unusual and the unexplainable.
There are the ghosts of famous
writers and famous seafarers, of light housemen and
soldiers, of rum-runners and Cuban refugees, and the
disturbing but true tale of the eye doctor who had an
eye for necrophilia and kept the body of his paramour
around long after she should have been peacefully at
Not resting very
peacefully either is the little stuffed doll called Robert
who long ago lost his owner, but is always looking for
a new one. Those of you in the market for bringing home
a little "souvenir" might get more than you
bargain for when you visit Robert at his museum home.
The Ghosts of Key West truly
rise to the occasion and help make any visit to Florida's
second oldest city one that you will never forget. Ghosts
of cigar makers, pirates, wreckers, and Voodoo practitioners
all await you. While their ghostly journeys continue
through time, yours is just about to begin courtesy
of Haunted America Tours.
Key West has long been a hot spot for vacation destinations.
Who can resist the, fresh seafood, rich history and the
beautiful beaches? But it is also known for it's haunted
Key West is an island located
just 150 miles south of Haunted Miami, Florida and just
90 miles across the Gulf of Mexico north of Havana Cuba.
Key West measures a mere 2
miles by 4 miles , however, With its sorted past history
and notorious newly discovered recent ghost filled
haunting's and sightings, Haunted Key west by the
inch may be the most haunted island in the world.
The many supernatural residents
like any other residents on the island all await your
visit. You can take a nightly or daytime ghost tour.
Or, you can stay at a very haunted hotel! Here are
but a few of the haunted houses and buildings on Key
West. Take a haunted Key West Ghost filled haunted
Tour and find out more.....
The Jefferson Hotel might be considered as one of the most
haunted hotels in America. This haunted hotel should be in
the Top 20 list of haunted hotels to visit in Texas. The apparitions
or ghost have been said to hurl objects and lock tourists
into one of the haunted rooms quite often
The Jefferson Hotel, after a post-Civil War fire led to its
reconstruction, is a haunted hot spot some report mysterious
echoing footsteps, knocks on your door in the middle of the
day and night. Now a days Jefferson, Texas is known as the
most haunted small town in Texas due to fame on the Travel,
Discovery and SciFi channels.
Guests at the one hundred and fifty year old building on
the historic Jefferson waterfront regularly report similar
paranormal occurrences . . .
Whispers from nowhere, orchestra music from a closed dining
hall, knocks on walls and headboards, the smell of cigar smoke
in the smoke-free building, faucets opening of their own accord,
and doors pulling back when pulled shut!!!
People who have been the only guests in the hotel have heard
the click-clack of footsteps walking the halls in the middle
of the night - even though the hall is carpeted! Children
have been heard laughing and romping throughout the hotel
in the middle of the night. A ghost child calls for mama,
a spirit of a dead baby often cries.
and Spotsylvania National Military Park
Union and Confederate forces gathered around the city of
Fredericksburg, Virginia for almost a month before the actual
engagement took place, but on December 12, 1862 the Union
forces crossed the Potomac River into the City and into
history. One of the bloodiest battles of the Civil War,
it, like Gettysburg, spread out over the surrounding farmlands
and rustic homesteads. In the end, there were 17,000 casualties
of which most were Union soldiers.
"Six times did the enemy, notwithstanding the
havoc caused by our batteries, press on with great determination
to within 100 yards of the foot of the hill, but here
encountering the deadly fire of our infantry, his columns
were broken and fled in confusion to the town. ...the
last [assault] occurred shortly before dark. This effort
met the fate of those that preceded it, and, when night
closed in, the shattered masses of the enemy had disappeared
in the town, leaving the field covered with dead and wounded."
-- General Robert E. Lee, CSA
Our killed amounted to 1,152; our wounded,
about 9,000; our prisoners, about 700, which have been
paroled and exchanged for about the same number taken
by us. The wounded were all removed to this side of
the river before the evacuation, and are being well
cared for, and the dead were all buried under a flag
-- Major General Ambrose E. Burnside
December 17, 1862
Fredericksburg and Spotsylvania National Military
Park is a unit of the National Park Service in Fredericksburg,
Virginia, and elsewhere in Spotsylvania County, commemorating
four major battles in the American Civil War.
Reports continue to come in of paranormal occurrences including
the sound of ghostly rifle shots and voices giving commands
to unseen ghostly troops. Many have heard ghost whispers
in the cemetery and seen the wandering figure of a band
of soldiers walking among the headstones.
Officially the Republic of Haiti, is a Latin American country
on the Caribbean island of Hispaniola, which it shares with
the Dominican Republic. Haiti also includes many smaller islands
such as La Gonâve, La Tortue (Tortuga), Les Cayemites,
Île de Anacaona, and La Grande Caye. The uninhabited
island of Navasse is claimed by both Haiti and the United
States. Any one who looks at the history of voodoo and its
profound impact on this island nation knows this spot is very
Roman Catholicism is the state religion, which the majority
of the population professes. An estimated 20 percent of the
population practices Protestantism. A large percentage of
the population in Haiti also practices the religion of Vodou
(Voodoo), almost always alongside Roman Catholic observances
(in most sects, it is required to become Roman Catholic first).
Many Haitians deny the recognition of Voodoo as a stand alone
religion and some claim it is a false religion.
"One common saying is that Haitians are 70 percent Catholic,
30 percent Protestant, and 100 percent voodoo," said
Lynne Warberg, a photographer who has documented Haitian voodoo
for over a decade.
In April 2003 an executive decree by then president Jean-Bertrand
Aristide sanctioned voodoo as an officially recognized religion.
"It is a religion in the same way Judaism or Christianity
is," said Bob Corbett, professor emeritus of philosophy
at Webster University in St. Louis, Missouri. "Voodoo
doesn't have a sacred text, a church, or a hierarchical structure
of leaders, but it is very similar culturally."
Voodoo, meaning "spirit," may be one of the world's
oldest ancestral, nature-honoring traditions, according to
Mamaissii Vivian Dansi Hounon, a member of OATH, the Organization
of African Traditional Healers in Martinez, Georgia.
Some anthropologists estimate that voodoo's roots in Benin—formerly
Dahomey—West Africa may go back 6,000 years. Today an
estimated 60 million people practice voodoo worldwide.
During the ceremony, the houngan or mambo—priest or
priestess—sacrifices a sanctified chicken or other animal
to the Loa. Participants then ask the spirits for advice or
help with problems. More than half the requests are for health.
It is said that the Loa sometimes communicate prophecies,
advice, or warnings while the believer is possessed. Other
messages are sent through the priest or priestess, or sometimes
come later in dreams.
These disembodied spirits are believed to become tired and
worn down—and rely on humans to "feed" them
in periodic rituals, including sacrifices. "It's not
the killing of the animals that matters, It's the transfer
of life energy back to the Loa."
Stonehenge is a prehistoric monument located in the English
county of Wiltshire, about 8 miles (13 km) north of Salisbury.
One of the most famous prehistoric sites in the world, Stonehenge
is composed of earthworks surrounding a circular setting
of large standing stones. Archaeologists believe the standing
stones were erected around 2200 BC and the surrounding circular
earth bank and ditch, which constitute the earliest phase
of the monument, have been dated to about 3100 BC. The site
and its surroundings were added to the UNESCO's list of
World Heritage Sites in 1986 in a co-listing with Avebury
henge monument, and it is also a legally protected Scheduled
Ancient Monument. Stonehenge itself is owned and managed
by English Heritage while the surrounding land is owned
by the National Trust.
Christopher Chippindale's Stonehenge Complete gives the
derivation of Stonehenge as coming from the Old English
words "stan" meaning "stone", and either
"hencg" meaning "hinge" (because the
stone lintels hinge on the upright stones) or "hen(c)en"
meaning "gallows" or "instrument of torture".
Stonehenge is a "henge monument" meaning that
it consists of menhirs (large rocks) in a circular formation.
Medieval gallows consisted of two uprights with a lintel
joining them, resembling Stonehenge's trilithons, rather
than looking like the inverted L-shape more familiar today.
The "henge" portion has given its name to a class
of monuments known as henges. Archaeologists define henges
as earthworks consisting of a circular banked enclosure
with an internal ditch. As often happens in archaeological
terminology, this is a holdover from antiquarian usage,
and Stonehenge cannot in fact be truly classified as a henge
site as its bank is inside its ditch. Despite being contemporary
with true Neolithic henges and stone circles, Stonehenge
is in many ways atypical. For example, its extant trilithons
make it unique. Stonehenge is only distantly related to
the other stones circles in the British Isles, such as the
Ring of Brodgar.
84. The Rose
Hall Great House - Montego Bay, Jamaica
The Rose Hall Great House
is one of the most popular tourist attractions in Jamaica
due in no small part to the legend of its mistress, Annie
Palmer. Palmer came to Rose Hall in 1820 and was known for
her gruesome treatment of slaves. Considered a Black Witch
by locals, she brutally tortured slaves and killed many of
them simply because she was bored by them. She is also said
to have murdered three of her husbands: the first by poison,
the second my stabbing and then pouring boiling oil in his
ears, and the third my strangling. All of Annie's victims
are said to haunt the grounds and tourists come armed with
instant cameras in hopes of snapping a picture of ghosts such
as the ones in the picture. There is also rumored to be secret
underground tunnels on the grounds and visitors have spoke
of bloodstains smeared in numerous places. It should also
be noted that the included picture was taken without a flash
or sun exposed windows. Find out more about the history, hauntings
and personal experiences here.
85. The Castillo de
San Marcos "The Fort"
What better place to find restless souls than in the dark
halls and former fort. The Castillo is a masonry star fort
made of a stone called "coquina", literally "little
shells". This is what the stone is made of, ancient
shells that have bonded together to form a type of stone,
similar to limestone. Workers were brought in from Havana,
Cuba to construct the fort. The coquina was quarried from
Anastasia Island across the bay from the Castillo, and ferried
across to the construction site. Construction lasted twenty-three
years, being completed in 1695.
The city of St. Augustine was founded in 1565. Over the
next one hundred years, the city was defended by nine wooden
forts. Following the 1668 attack of the English pirate Robert
Searle, it was decided by the Queen Regent of Spain, Mariana,
that a masonry fortification be constructed to protect the
city. In October 1672 construction began on the fort that
would become the Castillo de San Marcos.
In 1670, Charles Town (modern-day Charleston, South Carolina)
was founded by the British. Being just two days sail from
St. Augustine, this was one of the events that spurred the
fort's construction. In November 1702, forces under orders
from Governor James Moore of Charles Town, set sail from
Carolina in an attempt to capture the city.
Upon their arrival at St. Augustine, the British laid siege
to the city. All of the city's residents, some 1,200 people,
along with all of the fort's soldiers, some 300, remained
protected inside the wall of the fort for the next two months
during the siege.
The British cannon had little effect on the walls of the
fort. The coquina was very effective at absorbing the impact
of the shells, allowing very little damage to the walls
themselves. The siege was broken when the Spanish fleet
from Havana, Cuba arrived, trapping the British in the bay.
The British were forced to burn their ships to prevent them
from falling into the Spaniards' hands, and march overland
back to Carolina. As they withdrew, they set fire to the
city of St. Augustine, burning much of it to the ground.
After the siege of 1702, the Castillo underwent a period
of reconstruction. Beginning in 1738, the interior of the
fort was redesigned and rebuilt. Interior rooms were made
deeper, and vaulted ceilings replaced the original wooden
ones. The vaulted ceilings allowed for better protection
from bombardments and allowed for cannon to be placed along
the gun deck, not just at the corner bastions. The new ceilings
required the height of the exterior wall to be increased
from 26 to 33 feet.
In January, 1861, Florida seceded from the United States
in the opening months of the American Civil War. Union troops
had withdrawn from the fort, leaving only one man behind
as caretaker of the fort. In January 1861, Confederate troops
marched on the fort. The Union soldier manning the fort
refused to surrender it unless he was given a receipt for
it from the Confederacy. He was given the receipt and the
fort was taken by the Confederacy without a shot. Most of
the artillery in the fort was then sent to other forts,
leaving the fort nearly defenseless.
The fort was taken back by Union forces on March 11, 1862
when the USS Wabash entered the bay, finding the city evacuated
by Confederate troops. The city leaders were willing to
surrender in order to preserve the town, and the city and
the fort were retaken without firing a shot. Throughout
the rest of the fort's operational history, it was used
as a military prison. During the 1880s and 1890s many Native
Americans were imprisoned in the fort during the American
expansion westward. In 1898, over 200 deserters from the
Spanish-American War were imprisoned at the fort.
The Fort is very haunted sights sounds and many an eerie
feelings have affected the many who dare to tread the steps
of those that have died before them.
Loch Ness (Scottish Gaelic: Loch Nis) is a large, deep freshwater
loch in the Scottish Highlands ( 57°18'N, 4°27'W)
extending for approximately 37 km (23 miles) southwest of
Inverness. Its surface is 15.8 metres (52 feet) above sea
level. Loch Ness is best known for the alleged sightings of
the legendary Loch Ness Monster ("Nessie").
Loch Ness is the largest body of water on the Great Glen
geologic fault, which runs from Inverness in the north to
Fort William in the south. The Caledonian Canal, which links
the sea at either end of the fault, uses Loch Ness for part
of its route. The only island on Loch Ness is Cherry Island,
visible at its southwestern end, near Fort Augustus. It is
a crannog -- an artificial island usually from the Iron Age.
At Drumnadrochit is a Loch Ness Monster exhibition centre,
which contains information on the legendary creature. Boat
cruises operate from various locations on the loch shore,
giving tourists the chance to look for the monster.om the
lock are several haunted hot spots Boleskine Grave yard Urqhart
castle amd several more. If you ask the locals anout the hauntings
you will find out more.
Some say Boleskines Lodge Aleister Crowley, born Edward Alexander
Crowley, (12 October 1875 – 1 December 1947; was a British
occultist, writer and mystic's former home and Jimmy Pages
from Led Zepllin is very haunted by ghosts demons, angles
and Crowley himself. Boleskine House was the estate of Aleister
Crowley from 1899 to 1913. It is located on the South-Eastern
shore of Loch Ness in Scotland. It was built in the late 18th
century by Archibald Fraser.
Crowley eventually sold the manor in order to fund the publication
of The Equinox, Vol. III. However, he later alleged that the
funds were stolen by the Grand Treasurer General of the Order,
George MacNie Cowie. (The extensive mortgaging of the house
by that time may in fact have left little funds to steal.)
From the early 1970s to well into the 1980s, Boleskine was
owned by famed Led Zeppelin guitarist and Aleister Crowley
enthusiast, Jimmy Page. Sections of Page's fantasy sequence
in the Led Zeppelin concert film, The Song Remains the Same
were filmed at night on the mountain side directly behind
Boleskines Lodge Cemetery facing North, with view of Loch
Ness is said to harbour man a restless soul.
87. Leeds Point, NJ
Home of the Devil's Baby The Jersey Devil. There are many
different versions of the birth of the Jersey Devil. One of
the most popular legends says a Mrs. Shrouds of Leeds Point,
NJ made a wish that if she ever had another child, she want
it to be a devil. Her next child was born misshapen and deformed.
She sheltered it in the house, so the curious couldn't see
him. On stormy night, the child flapped it's arms, which turned
into wings, and escaped out the chimney and was never seen
by the family again. A Mrs. Bowen of Leeds point said, "The
Jersey Devil was born in the Shrouds house at Leeds Point."
The Jersey Devil is a legendary creature or cryptid said
to inhabit the Pine Barrens in southern New Jersey. The creature
is often described as a flying biped with hooves, but there
are many variations.
Another story that also placed the birth at Leeds Point said
that a young girl fell in love with a British soldier during
the Revolutionary War. The people of Leeds Point cursed her.
When she gave birth, she had a devil. Some people believe
the birth of the devil was punishment for the mistreatment
of a minister by the Leeds folk.
Rajasthan - the largest state of the Republic of India in
terms of area. It encompasses most of the area of the large,
inhospitable Great Indian Desert (Thar Desert), which has
an edge paralleling the Sutlej-Indus river valley along its
border with Pakistan. The region borders Pakistan to the west,
Gujarat to the southwest, Madhya Pradesh to the southeast.
Alwar / Bhangarh-Ajabgarh - Bhangarh ruins - Bhangarh is
situated in state of Rajasthan, India, in the Alwar district.
It is known for its historical ruins. This is still the reason
people are fearful and restlessness after sunset. People even
hear strange sounds of music and dancing in the night despite
no one being there.
Bhangarh is a place on way from Jaipur to Alwar city in Rajasthan
state of India. Today Bhangarh is known for it's ruins where
nobody dares to stay after sunset. Going to history we find
that this town was established by Madho Singh, younger brother
of King Akbar’s General Man Singh, in 1631. But the
city seems to have been abandoned in a hurry some centuries
later. As per local folks, due to some curse the whole town
was vacated overnight. According to this curse It was also
said that if the town was ever rediscovered, the township
would not be found, but only temples would show up. True to
the story, only temples dot the landscape and even far up
on the mountains only shrines can be seen. People say that
nobody returned from there who stayed there after dark. The
biggest thing is that as per Govt. of India rules there has
to be an office of Archaeology Survey of India (ASI) beside
every historical structure in India. But even Government authorities
couldn’t dare to open an office there and they opened
their office about one kilometer away from the ruins of Bhangarh.
Also ASI has put a signboard at Bhangarh saying, "Staying
after sunset is strictly prohibited in this area." People
who visit this place out of tourist interest say that there
is a strange feeling in the atmosphere of Bhangarh, which
causes sort of anxiety and restlessness.
The capital and largest city of Sweden, and consequently
the site of the national Swedish government and parliament
as well as the official residence of the Swedish monarch.
Stockholm has been the political and economic centre of Sweden
since the 13th century. Stockholm is one of the most crowded
museum-towns in the world with some 70 museums, visited by
over 9 million people per year.
The Palace of Scheffler is the most famous "haunted
house" in Stockholm and is often simply known by its
nickname, the Haunted Mansion, (Spökslottet).
The Royal Palace in Stockholm is supposedly haunted by several
ghosts, including the so called White Lady (vita frun) and
the Grey Man (grå mannen). The White Lady is said to
appear when someone in the royal family is about to die, and
old King Oscar II even writes about her in his memoirs. Some
believe that the Grey Man is the ghost of Birger Jarl, the
founder of Stockholm.
The Stockholm Metro is reputed to be haunted by the ghost
Borgvattnet is a very small village in northern Sweden, but
it has been made famous for its old, reputedly haunted vicarage
90.Quesnel District Museum and Archives
Quesnel and District Museum and Archives, Quesnel, British
Columbia - This museum is home to a doll named Mandy who is
reported to be or have been possessed. It is unknown who or
what possesses Mandy; or if it still possesses her. The doll
however, remains a huge tourist attraction for the museum.
Dietrich von Hohenfels and his nine sons were robber barons
who used the castle as a stronghold. His sons were caught
by the authorities and killed; Hohenfels was captured the
next day. He asked that he be hanged and his sons' lives be
spared, but upon seeing that they were already dead, his head
fell from his body. All ten bodies were buried in St. Clement
Chapel, in the castle, and the ghost -- headless -- is said
to haunt the castle.
It is difficult to say exactly how old Reichenstein really
is. The oldest building indications date the foundations from
the early 11th century: Reichenstein is almost 1,000 years
old. At that time the region belonged to the distant abbey
"Kornelimünster" near Aachen which was received
as a gift from Ludwig, the Pios. The Abbey appointed bailiffs
for the administration and for the safeguard of its rights.
One of these bailiffs for was the knight Rheinbodo (1151-1196)
and his descendants. Gerhard of Rheinbodo who resided in the
castle raged as robber-knight through the region and demanded
goods violently from the travelers and shipmen. In 1213, he
was disposed of. The first documentary writings of the castle
originate from that year. Knight Philipp became his successor.
He came from the powerful family "von Bolanden."
In 1218 his son Werner took the name "von Reichenstein,"
but since he died without an heir, the castle feared robber-knights
of his time. He did not follow the instructions of his feudal
lords in Kornelimünster and overpowered more and more
tradesmen who were traveling the Rhine River Valley.
In 1253, the archbishop of Mainz and the army of the town
association conquered and destroyed Reichenstein. Philipp
von Hohenfels had surrendered and promised good conduct so
that he could live. He used the following period to rebuild
Reichenstein stronger and more defensive than ever before.
He carried on with robbing during these politically unstable
times and ascended to the high office of Imperial Vicar and
began to steal church property. As a consequence the Archbishop
of Mainz banned him from the church. All this happened during
the times of "Interregnum," and came to an end when
the imperial power was once again strengthened. The times
of robber knights on the Rhine was over.
In 1282 the new king besieged the castle. Nevertheless he
did not succeed to storm the stronghold, but forced the garrison
to surrender by means of starvation. These battles were better
fights, raging during the 13th century around Reichenstein.
Many arrow points have been found on the castle grounds and
can be seen in the museum.
Contrary to the legend, Dietrich of Hohenfels was not decapitated,
but actually escaped. His companions were hung on the trees
in the valley by order of Rudolf von Habsburg. The castle
was burnt down in 1290. The king had forbidden that Reichenstein
and the neighboring fortress (also a nest of robber knights)
be rebuilt, but both were restored.
92. Newstead Abbey, UK
One of Nottinghamshire's most beautiful historic haunted
Newstead Abbey, near Nottingham, originally an Augustinian
priory, is now best known as the ancestral home of Lord Byron.
Many additions were made to the original building. The 13th-century
ecclesiastical buildings are largely ruined during the dissolution
of the monasteries. Early in the 18th century, the 4th Lord
Byron landscaped the gardens extensively, to which William
Byron, 5th Baron Byron added Gothic follies. It became a stately
and glamorous estate. William Byron, known as "the Wicked
Lord", was eccentric and violent and ruined the estate.
Lord Byron's son and heir (also named William) eloped with
Juliana Byron, the daughter of William's brother John Byron.
Lord Byron felt that intermarrying would produce children
plagued with madness and strongly opposed the union. He also
needed his son to marry well in order to escape the debt that
had been incurred in the Byron name. When defied by his son,
he became enraged and committed himself to ruining his inheritance
so that, in the event of his death, his son would receive
nothing but debt and worthless property. He laid waste to
Newstead Abbey, allowing the house to fall into disrepair,
cutting down the great stands of timber surrounding it, and
killing over 2,000 deer on the estate.
His vicious plan, however, was thwarted when his son died
in 1776. William also outlived his grandson, a young man who,
at the age of twenty-two, was killed by cannon fire in 1794
while fighting in Corsica. The title and Newstead Abbey was
then left to his great-nephew, George Gordon, who became the
6th Baron Byron when the 5th Lord died on 21 May 1798, at
the age of seventy-nine. Upon his death, it is said that the
great number of crickets he kept at Newstead left the estate
The young Lord Byron soon arrived at Newstead and was greatly
impressed by the estate. The scale of the estate contributed
to Byron's extravagant taste and sense of his own importance.
However, no less impressive was the scale of problems at Newstead,
where the yearly income had fallen to just £800 and
many repairs were needed. He and his mother soon moved to
Nottingham and neither lived permanently at Newstead for any
extended period. His view of the decayed Newstead became one
of the romantic ruin, a metaphor for his family's fall:
Thro' thy battlements, Newstead, the hollow winds whistle;
Thou, the hall of my fathers, art gone to decay.
The estate was leased to the 23-year-old Henry Edward Yelverton,
19th Baron Grey de Ruthyn, from January 1803. The lease was
for £50 a year for the Abbey and Park for five years,
until Byron came of age. Byron stayed for some time in 1803
with Lord Grey, before they fell out badly.
In 1808, Lord Grey left at the end of his lease and Byron
returned to live at Newstead and began extensive and expensive
renovations. His works were mainly decorative, however, rather
than structural, so that rain and damp obscured his changes
within just a few years.
Byron had a beloved Newfoundland dog named Boatswain, who
died of rabies in 1808. Boatswain was buried at Newstead Abbey
and has a monument larger than his master's. The inscription,
Byron's Epitaph to a dog, has become one of his best-known
NEAR this spot
Are deposited the Remains
Who possessed Beauty
Strength without Insolence,
Courage without Ferocity,
And all the Virtues of Man
Without his Vices.
This Praise, which would be unmeaning flattery
If inscribed over Human Ashes,
Is but a just tribute to the Memory of
"Boatswain," a Dog
Who was born at Newfoundland,
And died at Newstead Abbey
Nov. 18, 1808.
Byron had wanted to be buried with Boatswain, although he
would ultimately be buried in the family vault at the nearby
church in Hucknall.
He was determined to stay at Newstead—"Newstead
and I stand or fall together"—and he hoped to raise
a mortgage on the property, but his advisor John Hanson urged
a sale. This would be a preoccupation for many years and was
certainly not resolved when Byron left for his Mediterranean
travels in 1809. Upon his return to England in 1811, Byron
stayed in London, not returning to see his mother who had
been living in Newstead. She died, leaving him distraught
at his own negligence of her. He lived again at the Abbey
for a time but was soon drawn to life in London.
The Abbey is said to be haunted by
Little Sir John
Sir John has been seen sitting in his favourite chair in the
library, reading a book.
Sophie Hyatt - The White Lady
A devoted fan of Byron, The White Lady continues to walk around
the estate of her hero. Not so likely to be seen indoors.
The Goblin Friar
Dressed from head to toe in a black cloak the Goblin Friar
appears before a disastrous event.
The Rose Lady
This lady could be hard to spot. She is mostly recognised
by her distinctive Victorian scent.
The Black Friar
Unlike the other friar this one displays a much more caring
nature as he points out the way to the lost.
For the next few years, Byron made several attempts to sell
the Abbey. It was put up at auction in 1812 but failed to
reach a satisfactory price. A buyer was found, however, who
offered £140,000, which was accepted. By spring 1813,
though, the buyer, Thomas Claughton, had only paid £5,000
of the agreed down-payment. Byron was in debt and had continued
to spend money on the expectation that the house would be
sold. Negotiations began to degenerate and Byron accused Claughton
of robbing the wine cellar. By August 1814, it was clear that
the sale had fallen through, and Claughton forfeited what
he had paid of the deposit. Byron was now without settled
financial means and proposed marriage to the heiress Anne
Isabella Milbanke. Claughton did return with new proposals
involving a reduced price and further delays. Byron turned
93. Hellfire Caves
Located just outside of West Wycombe, Buckinghamshire. Built
around 1750 by the second Sir Francis Dashwood, the Earl of
Rosse (1708-1781), they are an intriguingly named site…
named after the Hellfire Club, founded by the same earl…
and for more than two centuries linked with an awful lot of
intrigue and ghost stories.
West Wycombe Caves, located in the Chiltern hills, Buckinghamshire,
England, are most famous for being used as a meeting place
for members of The Hellfire Club. The caves were extended
by Sir Francis Dashwood (later Lord le Despencer) between
1748–1752 to provide work for unemployed farm workers
following a succession of harvest failures, and lie close
to Dashwood's country house, West Wycombe Park (now owned
by the National Trust).
The Hellfire Club was the popular name for what is supposed
to have been an exclusive English club established by Sir
Francis Dashwood which met irregularly from 1746[citation
needed] to around 1760 as an extension to his Society of Dilettanti.
There is no evidence that they referred to themselves by this
name, rather it is likely they used the names of a number
of mockingly religious titles, beginning with the Brotherhood
of St. Francis of Wycombe. Other titles used included the
Order of Knights of West Wycombe and later, the Monks of Medmenham.
Other clubs using the name "Hellfire Club" were
set up throughout the 18th century, most notably the "Hell-Fire
Club" founded around 1719 in London by Philip, Duke of
The members called each other "Brothers" and Dashwood
as "Abbot". Female "guests" (prostitutes)
were "Nuns". Unlike the more determined Satanists
of the 1720s the club motto was Fait ce que vouldras (Do what
thou wilt) from François Rabelais, later used by Aleister
Crowley. Though they may have indulged in pseudo-Satanic rites,
a Monk named Horace Walpole said the " practice was rigorously
pagan: Bacchus and Venus were the deities to whom they almost
publicly sacrificed; and the nymphs and the hogsheads that
were laid in against the festivals of this new church, sufficiently
informed the neighbourhood of the
The chalk mines that were extended to form the caves had
existed near High Wycombe for a considerable time. The mines
are said to have a prehistoric origin, and were presuambly
created to extract the flint found in the chalk to make hand
tools. Locally, flint is used as a building material. The
entrance to the caves is built from flint, and St Lawrence's
church, above the Inner Temple, is also built using flint.
Due to the extensive alterations made by Dashwood, all evidence
of the caves' earlier history seem to have been destroyed.
The underground "rooms" are named, from the Entrance
Hall, through the Circle, Franklin's Cave (named after Benjamin
Franklin, a friend of Dashwood who stayed with him at West
Wycombe), the Banqueting Hall, the Triangle, to the Miner's
Cave; finally, across a subterranean river named the Styx,
lies the final cave, the Inner Temple.
The caves were refurbished and made suitable for visitors
during the 1950s by the late Sir Francis Dashwood, Baronet.
They are now open as a tourist attraction, with life-sized
waxwork figures in period costume illustrating the life of
the caves in the 18th century. The caves have attracted over
2 million visitors since 1951.
The caves were investigated by the Sci-Fi Channel original
series, Ghost Hunters which aired on June 13, 2007.
Connecticut's infamous Village of the Damned
The deserted village of Dudleytown, while largely forgotten
today, is believed by many to be one of the most haunted
places in New England. It is felt that the place could
be a concentrated area of negative energy, which may explain
why it was abandoned and cursed many years ago. Dudleytown,
also known as Owlsbury, is an extinct settlement in Connecticut.
A remote extension to the town of Cornwall, it is best
known for its "haunted" forest. It is listed
in Weird U.S.
Dudleytown was first settled in the mid-1700's as a farming
community, despite the fact that the soil was too rocky
and that the overhanging hills made the valley too shadowed
for anything to grow profitably.
Cornwall itself was never a large settlement, but was
inhabited by farmers, millers, blacksmiths and other itinerant
workers. Current records show initial settlement at Cornwall
to have begun in 1738 by Thomas Griffis, with the incorporation
of the surrounding farming community in 1740. All that
now remains of this early settlement (located at an elevation
of nearly 1500 feet) are some foundations, cellars and
remnants of buildings erected over a century after the
founders' initial log cabin was established.
Despite the difficult landscape, Griffis soon had neighbours
who began to clear the land and to build additional homesteads
and stone walls from the abundant stone found in the area.
At least two of these neighbours were Abiel and Barzillai
Dudley. Abiel is recorded as having bought more land in
Cornwall on December 31, 1748.
That there were Dudleys in Cornwall before 1750 is clear,
as Abiel was included in the tax list of 1744, and by
1748 Gideon Dudley had been recognized as a taxpayer.
On January 2, 1749 Gideon Dudley was born in Cornwall,
the son of Gideon. Abiel Dudley later acquired additional
land in Cornwall on October 23, 1753. Joseph Dudley, another
son of Gideon, was born in 1755. Barzillai Dudley married
Sarah Carter on March 6, 1750 in Cornwall and they raised
two children, Sibe and Sarah, born in 1750 in 1752, respectively.
Barzillai Dudley is listed in Captain Lyman's company
during the French and Indian War for 14 days in 1757 and
is again recorded in the 1758 Cornwall tax records. He
seems to have left the area soon afterwards, as no further
tax records for him are listed. Along with other early
arrivals (the population never exceeded 100), the Dudleys
cleared the land, planted buckwheat, hunted deer for the
winter store and established their farms on the rough
upland plain. Small streams were dammed to supply power
for at least three mills, but Dudleytown remained fairly
isolated. Ice Age glaciers had removed most of the topsoil
from the Dudleytown plateau, leaving an abundance of glacial
rock and granite ledges; evidence of this can be seen
in the maze of stone walls bounding farm lots, roadways,
bridges, fords, and sluiceways.
Abiel Dudley's property was sold to the township in 1771
and Gideon was recorded in the Cornwall tax records for
the last time in 1773. He departed the area shortly afterwards,
abandoning 30 years of work. By 1766 his sons Gideon and
Joseph had died, after their mother, Elisabeth Dudley,
in 1765. A plague (probably smallpox) reached Cornwall
and Dudleytown during 1774. The cause of this outbreak
is not known, but is important in the context of the numerous
infant deaths recorded in the small community over the
previous decade. Abiel Dudley did survive, to die of old
age in November 1799.
Of the various plagues that affected 18th century North
America, perhaps none were more devastating than the smallpox
outbreaks of 1775 to 1782. An appearance of yellow fever
occurred in the United States during 1702. Thirty-five
further outbreaks were recorded from this initial event
until 1800, with almost annual recurrences between 1800
With no new families moving in to occupy the abandoned
homesteads, the houses that had stood for a hundred years
crumbled. Their massive hand-cut beams collapsed and decayed
beneath protective blankets of wild tiger lilies. Brush
and vine now reduce Dark Entry and Dudleytown roads to
little more than tangled trails in a permanent gloom.
Due to its "haunted" reputation, the area has
attracted many ghost hunters, as well as adolescents willing
to cause trouble. They have become such an annoyance to
local residents that the Connecticut State Police currently
forbids entry to the area and patrols there.
Dudleytown is located on private property. It is not
open to the public. The land it rests on is owned by the
private interest, "Dark Entry Forest, Inc."
and is posted thoroughly with "no trespassing"
and "no parking" signs on all roadways leading
into the area. The state police vigorously enforce these
injunctions. Dudleytown is not located on state property
nor in a state forest.
95. The Old Spaghetti Factory, Gastown,
Vancouver, British Columbia
If you are looking for eerie eating in Vancouver, check
out the Old Spaghetti Factory in the Gastown neighborhood.
You may hear stories of inexplicable cold drafts and moving
table settings, shenanigans attributed to the ghost of a
certain train conductor who met his end during a tragic
collision on the underground railway track upon which the
restaurant is built. Enjoy the delicious food, but watch
that your cutlery doesn’t float off on you!
The Old Spaghetti Factory, Gastown, Vancouver, British
If you are looking for eerie eating in Vancouver, check
out the Old Spaghetti Factory in the Gastown neighborhood.
You may hear stories of inexplicable cold drafts and moving
table settings, shenanigans attributed to the ghost of a
certain train conductor who met his end during a tragic
collision on the underground railway track upon which the
restaurant is built. Enjoy the delicious food, but watch
that your cutlery doesn’t float off on you!
96. Ballygally Castle - Ballygally Bay, Ireland
Though now a newly renovated hotel, Ballygally Castle was
built in 1625 by James Shaw. True to most castles in Europe,
it is, of course, haunted. The most notable ghost in Ballygally
is that of Lady Isobel Shaw, who was locked in a room by her
husband James and starved to death. Said to be friendly, she
amuses herself by knocking on doors and then disappearing.
Another apparition is Madame Nixon who can be seen and heard
walking around in her silk dress. When Ballygally was actually
a castle it came under attack several times and many soldiers
lost their lives. Consequently, their restless souls frequent
the castle grounds in military uniform toying with guests,
and perhaps searching for their enemies. This genuine 1625
Castle has all the facilities to be expected from an International
Hotel, although it still maintains its links with its historical
background. It can also cater for functions and conferences.
97.Cold Harbor Battlefield, Mechanicsville,
CONSIDERED MOST HAUNTED BATTLEFIELD #10. Cold Harbor, Richmond
National Battlefield, Richmond, Virginia.
The Battle of Cold Harbor was fought between
May 31 and June 12, !864 and is one of the battles at which
General Ulysses S. Grant was present in personal command.
This did not forestall the Confederates or prevent a Union
loss, but men of both sides fought and fell valiantly: 16,000
men died or were wounded or lost at Cold Harbor and years
later the number was being revised as farmers and hapless
visitors continued to uncover remains of men who fell in
this horrible corner of Virginia. Visitors to the Cold Harbor
/ Richmond battlefields have reported encounters with ghostly
soldiers and unexplained lights; the sound of hoof beats
and cannon fire still persist to this day.
Richmond National Battlefield Park commemorates
more than 30 American Civil War battles around Richmond,
Virginia. These battles include: Beaver Dam Creek, Cold
Harbor, Drewery's Bluff, Gaines Mill, Glendale, Malvern
Hill, and New Market Heights, site of 14 Medals of Honor
for United States Colored Troops.
The national battlefield park was authorized
on March 2, 1936. As with all historical areas administered
by the National Park Service, it was listed on the National
Register of Historic Places on October 15, 1966.
Ghost Photos, EVP's and more happen her all the time.
Berkeley Plantation Viginia, Charles City founded in 1619
by 38 settlers from Berkeley Castle in England. The manor
house was built by Benjamin Harrison in 1726. Both George
Washington and Abraham Lincoln were guests at the plantation.
During the Civil War, General McCellan's Federal troops occupied
Berkeley after retreating from Richmond. After the war, the
plantation was bought by John Jamieson, a Scotsman who served
as a drummer boy for McCellan. In 1927, the estate was inherited
by his son, Malcolm, and has been in the Jamieson family ever
since. Visitors to the restored mansion have reported seeing
and hearing the ghost of a little drummer boy. The apparition
of a tall, gaunt man has been seen walking along the riverbank,
sometimes walking side-by-side with the little drummer boy
along the old picket fence that runs up the hill to the cemetery.
Berkeley Plantation, one of the first great estates in America,
comprises about 100 acres (0.4 km²) on the banks of the
James River on State Route 5 in Charles City County, Virginia.
Berkeley Plantation was originally called Berkeley Hundred,
and named after one of its founders of the 1618 land grant,
Benjamin Harrison IV built the mansion on the estate in 1726
and married Anne Carter, daughter of Robert "King"
Carter of Lancaster County, Virginia, who was the most powerful
land baron in the area. His son, Benjamin Harrison V, a signer
of the American Declaration of Independence and a governor
of Virginia, was born at Berkeley Plantation, as was his son
William Henry Harrison, a war hero in the Battle of Tippecanoe,
governor of Indiana Territory, and ninth President of the
During the American Civil War, Union troops occupied Berkeley
Plantation, and President Abraham Lincoln twice visited there
in the summer of 1862 to confer with Gen. George B. McClellan.
The Harrisons were not able to regain possession of Berkeley
Plantation after the war, and it passed through several owners'
hands and fell into disrepair. In 1907, it was bought by John
Jamieson, a Scotsman who had served as a drummer boy in the
Union army during the Civil War, and it was his son Malcolm
Jamieson (who inherited it in 1927), and Malcolm's wife Grace,
who restored the manor to the beauty that attracts visitors
from all over the country and other parts of the world, too.
The architecture is original, and the house has been filled
with antique furniture and furnishings that date from the
period when it was built. The grounds, too, have been restored,
and cuttings from the boxwood gardens are available as living
souvenirs for its visitors.
Among the many American "firsts" that occurred
at Berkeley Plantation are:
1st official Thanksgiving: 4 December, 1619
1st bourbon whiskey distilled: 1621, by George Thorpe, an
1st time Army bugle call Taps played: July 1862, by bugler
Oliver W. Norton; the melody was written at Harrison's Landing
on the plantation by then General Daniel Butterfield.
HERE ARE SOME OF THE VERY NOTABLE HAUNTED HOUSES IN AMERICA
A list of some of America's Most Haunted House swhere people
have reported ghostly encounters. These Haunted House are
all located in the United States.
Most Haunted House in America: The Myrtyles Plantation West
Feliciana Parish Louisiana, LaLaurie House New Orleans, Louisiana,
The Whaley House San Diego, California, The Winchester House
San Jose, California The Stranahan House Fort Lauderdale,
Florida, The White House Pennsylvania Ave., Washington DC
Congelier House Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Franklin Castle
Cleveland, Ohio Hull House Chicago, Illinois Lemp Mansion
St. Louis, Missouri The Wademan House Navarre, Ohio Stickney
Mansion, Shitell House Crystal Lake, Illinois Moore Home Ax
Murder House Villisca, Iowa, Luna Mansion, Los Lunas, New
Mexico,The Borden House Fall River, Massachusetts Ashton Villa,
Galveston, Texas Sterwart Mansion, Gilmore House and the Bishop's
Palace, Dallas, Texas The Harry House Houston, Texas, O'conner
House San Antonio, Texas, Casa Del Toro Gordo Longview, Texas,
The Kendall House, Bamal, Texas, The Sidney House Adams, Tennessee,
Minnick Manor Averill Park, New York, The Hannah House, Indianapolis,
Indiana, The Hemmingway Home Key West, Florida, The Whitlock
Seabrook Wilson Homestead Port Monmouth, New Jersey, Winchester
Illinois, House Ellicott City, Maryland, The Reese Smith House
Marion North Carolina, The Johnson House, Harrisburg, Illinois,
VILLA PAULA The Cuban Embassy , Miami, Florida, Whaley House,
San Diego,"birthplace of California", Sheeley House
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, Old Mary Buth House, Germantown,
Wisconsin, The Becker house, Bristol, Rhode Island, The Sanders
House, Harrison, Arkansas, Dorothea Puente's F Street Boarding
House Sacramento, California
As one of the most venerable "Old
Ladies" of the Confederacy, Charleston, South Carolina,
has much in common with its haunted "sister city"
of Savannah, Georgia. And real ghost videos Happen here
al the time.
Both these cities were pivotal
in the Civil War, with Charleston perhaps the more significant
of the two, at least to invading Union soldiers who saw
her as the Birthplace of the Rebellion. The first shot
of the great conflagration that became the Civil War was
fired just outside the city at famous Fort Sumter, and
it was a shot that has echoed through all the long years
Charleston is filled with an almost
storybook beauty. Classically styled homes reminiscent
of the great plantations still peek from behind romantic
tangles of jasmine and bougainvillea or stand proudly
under the moss-hung shadows of the great old oaks. Its
rich history as one of the great port cities of the young
republic is readily explored in the oldest sections of
this fabled Southern town; centuries of history have drifted
past her, too, in the lazy waters of the nearby river
which pirates used to ply their contraband trade all along
the coast of the Eastern United States.
In the earliest days of American
colonies, Charleston became a haven for many of Europe's
persecuted and deprived, especially the French Huegenot
who fled the religious persecution of the French Civil
War and found a home in the lush and verdant acres of
what would become Charleston. The Huegenot Church is one
of the oldest houses of worship in America and can still
be visited to this day.
At the height of his power, in May 1718, Blackbeard blockaded
Charleston, South Carolina for a week. Shortly afterwards
the Queen Anne's Revenge ran aground and was wrecked.
Blackbeard sailed on to Bath, North Carolina which was
then the state capital. The Governor, Charles Eden (with
whom, it was rumoured, Blackbeard was in league) granted
him a pardon and even officiated at his wedding - to what
was reputed to be his 14th bride! SOME LOCALS SAY HIS
GHOSTLY HEAD STILL HAUNTS THE AREA!
No event forged the character
of this old city more than the great rebellion that was
the American Civil War, and seemingly no event has supplied
more ghosts to the streets and historic areas of Charleston
than this dramatic and tragic event.
Fort Sumter is among the most
visited historical sites in the United States, and is
among the most haunted sites anywhere. Guided tours are
available, and occasionally after-hours tours are offered.
Many visitors have reported encounters with the paranormal
and unexplained while touring this fabled location. Ghosts
of both Confederate and Union soldiers seem to be on eternal
sentry, and completely unaware of each others' presence,
as they walk the stones of this old bastion of war. The
first shot of the Civil War was fired here, and it did
not bode well for the Federal soldiers who were stationed
there. In 1861 the Union troops were forced to surrender.
In 1865 the fort was occupied by men of the famous 54th
Massachusetts (Colored) Regiment who, under the command
of Bvt. Brig. General Edward N. Hallowell had the distinction
of occupying many of the famous "symbols" of
the rebellious South. Hallowell, in command of the city
from his quarters at No. 8 Meeting Street, placed his
colored infantry in such significant locations as Sumpter,
Morris Island, and the infamous Battery Wagner where the
regiment received its trial by fire. Many visitors to
some of the historic sites that still remain have reported
seeing the strong and erect images of these brave colored
soldiers to whom victory over the South meant so much
more. Others who have visited the area where Battery Wagner
once stood have reported hearing cries and explosions
coming to their ears over the waves under which the old
fort sank long ago.
Many of the oldest and most famous
buildings in the old city boast numerous hauntings from
all eras of the city's past. Church Street, Chalmers Street,
Queen Street, old Meeting Street -- in almost every area
of the old town there are ghosts to be found.
Paranormal experiences occur with
such regularity that many Charleston residents are proud
to call Charleston home. Charleston offers historic and
haunted walking tours, cemetery tours, buggy and trolley
tours. Some include tours of underground passages that
criss-cross the city: used by pirates to transport treasure
long ago and later by sympathetic Southerners as passages
on the Underground Railroad, this is a Charleston "don't
miss." Boat tours along the historic waterways also
include numerous tales of ghostly paddlewheel steamers
and the wafting strains of calliope music from long silenced
pipes. And there are any number of graveyards and cemeteries
to add to the overall ghostly gallivanting that is a highlight
of any visit to this famous town.
With such a rich and tragic history
there is no reason to doubt that Charleston is truly one
of the most haunted cities in America! Don't miss it!
Lafayette No. 1 is the cemetery most often used in films
made in New Orleans, and is across the street from the famed
Commander's Palace Restaurant in the Garden Distict. It was
the burial grounds for what was once the City Of Lafayette.
You will find a number of prominent New Orleanians buried
here. Designated a city burial site in 1833, Lafayette Cemetery
No. 1 is placed on the National Register of Historic Places
by virtue of its significant history, location, and architectural
"Interview with a Vampire" starred Tom Cruise,
Brad Pitt and Kirsten Dunst. It was filmed throughout the
French Quarter and Lafayette Cemetery No. 1,Dracula 2000",
starring Johnny Miller and Omar Epps, .
Located in the Garden District, Washington Ave and Prytania,
section of New Orleans and accessible by the St. Charles
Avenue Streetcar. New Orleans Garden District was settled
in the 1850’s by successful entrepreneurs —
the “nouveau riche” of that time. They built
large, elegant mansions exemplifying many architectural
styles, including Greek Revival, Italianate and Queen Anne
Built in 1833, by 1852 - when 2000 yellow fever victims
were buried here - the Garden District cemetery was filled
to capacity. Today it is an eerie haunted place, with many
tombs still sinking into the ground, and some of them slowly
opening in the shadow of tangled trees. Near the downtown-side
gate of Lafayette No. 1 Cemetery stands a tomb that, to
a father's eyes, resembles a crib. Nestled within, according
to the fading inscriptions, are the earthly remains of three
siblings who in a matter of days fell victim to yellow fever.
Ghost stories and tales of the undead, Zombies and being
burried alive. Many of these ghost tales are said to be
just Cemetery urban legends... Others swear thia is the
most haunted Cemetery for parnomal encounters and a feeling
of being truly haunted.
It's no surprise that all this decaying grandeur should
capture the imagination of local author Anne Rice, who has
used the place in many of her books - she even staged a
mock funeral here, to launch publication of Memnoch the
Devil ; the corpse was herself, wearing an antique wedding
dress, in an open coffin carried by pall bearers.
Tombs in Lafayette Cemetery No. 1 are constructed with
a shelf near the top where recently deceased bodies are
placed. The shelf doesn't extend all the way to the back
so when it's time to add another body to the family tomb
the previous bones can be pushed to the rear where they
fall through joining any remains already present.
Regulations limit the opening of tombs to once a year,
not nearly frequently enough during times like the yellow
fever epidemics, so temporary "storage ovens"
line some of the exterior walls in Lafayette Cemetery No.
Monday - Friday: 7:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.
Saturday: 7:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Sunday & Holidays: Closed (Except Mother's Day, Father's
Day and All Saint's Day)
For more of the top 100
places to see a real ghost and have a Paranormal Encounter.
Please visit here! The World's Most Haunted Places
Some of these Top 100 Most allegedly haunted
places are known for their haunted cemeteries, houses, buildings,
Roads, hotels, & battlefields and churches. And in some
cases a city may be listed and in other spots a haunted
hot spot. Please feel free to use this as a Paranormal
Travel Guide when planning your next haunted destination
ghost hunt or vacation. There are literally thousands of
haunted places around the world, and this list only compiles
a small number of them.
So please read these very haunted ghost stories
and watch a real ghost video or two. And be sure to visit
America Tours Home Page
to find more then your heart should take. This web site
is not for the squeamish. These Very real Haunted places
are sid to be the best places to capture a real ghost on
film, video, or digital voice recorder or have a real paranormal
HAUNTED AMERICA TOURS Official Web Site is
a ghost tour information site; our information is only as
reliable as readers' contributed ghost and haunted reports.
We assume no credit for your adventures, and accept no liability
for your misadventures. Use common sense. Read our ghost
hunting recommendations. Before visiting any "haunted"
site, verify the location, accessibility, safety, and other
important information. Never trespass on private and/or
posted property without permission from the proper authorities.
Unexplained ghost photos you want to see!
The condition, pareidolia,
is a condition that causes someone to recognize human faces
or forms in random patterns. Is this just what some of our ghost
reported real ghost photos just might well be.
Visit True Ghost Tales and Ghost Photos
to read real true ghost stories sent in by readers like you
site is being developed for the paranormal enthusiast seeking
a home turf haunted adventure. Our skilled staff is busily assembling
a wide and varied selection of tantalizing destinations -- from
slightly off the beaten path to certifiably haunted! We have enlisted
the skills of numerous paranormal investigative organizations
and independent psychics to seek out the famous and the infamous:
whatever your fascination, be it ghosts, vampires, werewolves,
haunted places -- Haunted America Tours is the expert choice to
begin your adventure.