Haunted New Orleans is by far considered by locals, visitors
and paranormal investigators world wide as actually the
most haunted and No. # 1 Haunted City in all the United
States and the world. With all the past and present spiritual
activity taking place in this central plot The haunted French
Quarter - transcendent, dark, and in between two worlds
- most who witness this City for all it's worth of supernatural
origins. With 200 years of ghostly legends involving Voodoo
curses, Spanish moss draped oak encircled duels, cold-blooded
murders, Stories of Revolutionary War Pirates and Civil
War soldiers, and Jazz. New Orleans has earned a serious
reputation as one of Haunted New Orleans Tours most haunted
cities. Locals say that the concentration of extremes leaves
the city open to ghosts within the homes and businesses
of Central New Orleans.
" The most popular tourist site to have your possible
brush with the supernatural. But there is more to Haunted
New Orleans then just the supernatural Locales. It's an
experience you will never forget!"
Haunted New Orleans Voted Haunted New Orleans the best
Haunted City in the United States for 2004 - 2010. By the
readers of www.hauntedamericatours.com.
South Louisiana possesses the Crown Jewel of all Haunted
Cities - New Orleans. Haunted hotels, haunted cemeteries,
haunted houses you name it it;s haunted... And real Voodoo
More Haunted Plantations of Louisiana
Long before the docks of haunted New York City became crowded
with European refugees, the port of New Orleans was already
melting everything in its wondrous Creole pot. Among the
earliest settled cities of the New World, New Orleans' place
at the bend of the mighty Mississippi River more than guaranteed
it a unique and interesting life. Held by French and Spanish,
threatened by the British, and governed by Abraham Lincoln's
Army of the Republic during the Civil War, this venerable
"Old Lady" has seen generations come and go with
grace and quiet charm.
One could spend an entire lifetime in the Crescent City
- so-called because of its auspicious placement at the river's
turn - and still not know all there is to know of her, nor
ever, it has been said, get enough of her. Characterized
as an almost living being, the City itself has been suspected
of casting a spell over all who come to her, assuring that
all who visit will eventually come back.
2. The Haunted Underground Vaults, Edinburgh,
Far below the busy streets of modern Edinburgh lies a dark,
forgotten corner of history. Discovered in the mid-1980’s,
the Edinburgh Vaults had been abandoned for nearly two hundred
years. Lying beneath the South Bridge, a major Edinburgh passage,
the rooms were used as cellars, workshops and even as residences
by the businesses that plied their trade on the busy bridge
Abandoned soon after they were built due to excessive water
and moisture, the vaults remain, unaltered, never illuminated
by the light of day.
3. Walachia, Transylvania, Land of Dracul,
“Beyond the green swelling hills of the Mittel Land
rose mighty slopes of forest up to the lofty steeps of the
Carpathians themselves. Right and left of us they towered,
with the afternoon sun falling full upon them and bringing
out all the glorious colours of this beautiful range, deep
blue and purple in the shadows of the peaks, green and brown
where grass and rock mingled, and an endless perspective
of jagged rock and pointed crags, till these were themselves
lost in the distance, where the snowy peaks rose grandly
“Just then a heavy cloud passed across the face of
the moon, so that we were again in darkness . . . This was
all so strange and uncanny that a dreadful fear came upon
me, and I was afraid to speak or move. The time seemed interminable,
as we swept on our way, now in almost complete darkness,
for the rolling clouds obscured the moon.
“We kept on ascending, with occasional periods of
quick descent, but in the main always ascending. Suddenly,
I became conscious of the fact that the driver was in the
act of pulling up the horses in the courtyard of a vast
ruined castle, from whose tall black windows came no ray
of light, and whose broken battlements showed a jagged line
against the sky.”
Long ago, as the city of Paris grew, it became necessary
to provide more space for the living. To do so, engineers
and planners decided to move the mass of humanity least
likely to protest: in this case, the dead. Millions of Parisian
dead were quietly disinterred in one of the largest engineering
feats in history and their remains were deposited along
the walls of the chilly, dank passageways lying beneath
the City of Light. They lie there to this day, in the eternal
darkness, an Empire of the Dead.
The Paris Catacombs are infamous and much has been written
about their history and purpose. A million visitors a year
are said to walk the dank corridors and to stare at the
bones and gaze fixedly into the empty eye-sockets of the
long dead. Many of these same visitors, and some of their
guides, have encountered more than just the silence in the
catacombs: they have had encounters with ghostly inhabitants
that roam the empty passageways and mutely follow the tour
5. Myrtles Plantation, Saint Francisville,Louisiana
Saint Francisville is located in West Feliciana Parish
Louisiana. A small town on the Mississippi River. Once the
Capital of the Republic of West Florida, it is here that
John James Audubon (Birds of America Collection) created
over 80 of his beautiful watercolors. There are seven Magnificent
Plantation homes opened for public tours.
And The Myrtyles Plantation is the one you would not want
to miss. And with all the recent investigations by TAPS
is now fast becoming the most famous ghost filled haunted
house in America.
A town where all the residents
are mediums or psychics. The main "business" in
this quaint hamlet, is communicating with the dead and healing
the sick. It is a beautiful town, very peaceful, with a Gothic
look that invites visitors to stroll the narrow streets. Almost
every home in the town has a hanging sign announcing the services
of a medium. This is not just a business, it is the combined
religious beliefs of Spiritualism. The residents and practioners,
invite visitors to their town, but frown on the curiosity
seekers. UNX-researchers frequently conduct psychic studies
with certain Spiritualists in Cassadaga, in addition, one
of our UNX-parapsychologists is a long time resident of Cassadaga.
This unusual village was founded in 1895, by George Colby,
who was guided to the spot by an Indian Spirit, who directed
Colby to build a Spiritual Center on the site. Cassadaga is
located between Orlando and Daytona Beach, in Volusia county,
just east of Interstate-four.
Founded in 1836, Galveston has a history as old and phantom-filled
as the entire state of Texas. Tales of pirates and civil
war soldiers, of drowned victims of the Great Storm of
1900 that still wander the Galveston streets looking for
home. These are but a few of the phantoms of Haunted Galveston.
Galveston was the first Texas city to have electric lights,
electric street cars, a post office, naval base, a newspaper,
public library and hospital and many other products of
civilization. Galveston is rich in history and was the
area known as the "Strand" encompasses many
of the most historic buildings in the old city including
the 1894 Grand Opera House, many museums, shops and eateries.
The Galveston Strand was once called "The Wall Street
of the Southwest" because it's location and climate
attracted so many of the formidable "old money"
families of the Northeast. This barrier island also boasts
one of the country's largest bird migratory flyways, beautiful
beaches and amazing, rich salt marshes.
In the early 1800's the island was used as a headquarters
by the famous buccaneer pirate Jean Lafitte who used the
remote and trackless surroundings to hide his treasure
and further his clandestine trade with outlying territories.
abound of the buried treasure left behind by Jean Lafitte
and his men and treasure hunters still seek the lost booty
to this day. In 1821, Lafitte was ordered to leave by
the American forces aboard the warship "Enterprise."
Lafitte sailed out of Galveston aboard his frigate "Barataria
Bay" was never seen in Galveston again - at least
not by any living eye.
The most deadly battle of the Civil War took place
in 1863 in the tiny Pennsylvania town of Gettysburg. Union
soldiers were low on ammunition and losing the fight, nearly
capitulating them to the advancing Confederate army. Then,
as they used up the last of their gunpowder, a ghostly George
Washington on a white stallion appeared before them, urging
them on to victory — an event that ultimately turned
the tide of the war. That's the way the legend tells it
anyway, and to this day, the people who live in and around
Gettysburg maintain that George Washington's ghost rides
regally across that same battlefield every summer. Of all
the forlorn, countless souls awash in time, none reach out
to us more than those of the dead at Gettysburg . . . Their
presence on earth was silenced forever by death. Or maybe
not." -- Mark Nesbitt.
Highway 8 intersects with Highway 1. Robert Johnson and
his infamous crossroads deal with the devil – in which
he traded his immortal soul for musical genius – is
deeply ingrained in the mythology and legend of the rural
South and is one of the best-known tales of American folklore.
The first known reports of paranormal events date to around
1863. At this time, a few locals reported hearing footsteps
within the house. On 28th July 1900, four of the daughters
of the rector reported seeing what they thought was the
ghost of a nun from 40 yards' distance near the house in
twilight: they tried to talk to it, but it disappeared as
they got nearer. Various people would witness a variety
of puzzling incidents, such as a phantom coach driven by
two headless horsemen, through the next four decades. Henry
Dawson Ellis Bull died in 1892 and his son, Revd. Harry
Bull, took over the living. In 1911, he married a younger
divorcee, Ivy, and the couple moved with her daughter to
nearby Borley Place until 1920 (when he took over the rectory),
whilst his unmarried sisters moved to Chilton Lodge a few
On 9th June 1927, the rector, Harry Bull, died and the
rectory again became vacant. In the following year, on 2nd
October 1928, the Reverend Guy Eric Smith and his wife moved
into the home. One day, soon after moving in, Mrs. Smith
was cleaning out a cupboard when she came across a brown
paper package, inside which was the skull of a young woman.Shortly
after, the family would report a variety of incidents including
the sounds of bells ringing, lights appearing in windows,
windows shattering, unexplained footsteps, and their daughter
was locked in a room with no key. In addition, Mrs Smith
saw a horse-drawn carriage at night. The Smiths contacted
The Daily Mirror to ask them to put them in touch with the
Society for Psychical Research. On 10th June 1929, the paper
sent a reporter who promptly wrote the first of a series
of articles detailing the mysteries of Borley. The paper
also arranged for Harry Price, a paranormal researcher,
to make his first visit to the place that would ultimately
make his name famous. He arrived on 12th June. Immediately,
objective 'phenomena' of a new kind appeared, such as the
throwing of stones, a vase and other objects. 'Spirit messages'
were tapped out from the frame of a mirror.
Finally driven from their home by the poor state of the
house, the Smiths left Borley on 14th July 1929 and, after
some difficulty in finding a replacement, the Revd. Lionel
Foyster, a first cousin of the Bulls, and his wife Marianne
moved into the rectory with their adopted daughter Adelaide
on 16th October 1930. Lionel Foyster wrote an account of
the various strange incidents that happened, which he sent
to Harry Price. Price estimated that, between the Foyster's
moving in October 1930 and October 1935, some two thousand
incidents took place there, including bell-ringing, stones,
bottle-throwing and wall-writing. Lionel Foyster's wife
Marianne reported to her husband a whole range of poltergeist
phenomena which included her being thrown from her bed.
On one occasion, Adelaide was attacked by "something
horrible". Twice, Reverend Foyster tried to conduct
an exorcism, but his efforts were futile. In the middle
of the first, Foyster was struck in the shoulder by a fist-size
stone. Because of the publicity in The Daily Mirror, these
incidents attracted much attention at the time from several
psychic researchers who investigated, and were unanimous
in suspecting that they were caused, consciously or unconsciously,
by the Rector's wife, Marianne Foyster. Mrs. Foyster later
stated that she felt that some of the incidents were caused
by her husband in collaboration with one of the psychic
researchers, but other events appeared to her to be genuine
The Foysters left Borley as a result of Lionel's ill health,
and Harry Price, after a gap of over five years, renewed
his interest in the house, renting the building for a year
from May 1937 to May 1938. Through an advertisement in The
Times newspaper on 25th May 1937, and subsequent personal
interviews, he recruited a corp of forty-eight 'official
observers', mostly students, who spent periods, mainly at
weekends, at the Rectory with instructions to report any
phenomena which occurred. In March 1938, Helen Glanville
conducted a Planchette séance in Streatham in London.
Price reported that Glanville made contact with two spirits.
The first was that of a young nun who identified herself
as Marie Lairre. She said she had been murdered on the
site of Borley Rectory. Her answers were consistent with
the local legend . Her French name, though, was a puzzle.
She was a French nun who left her religious order, married,
and came to live in England. The groom was supposedly none
other than Henry Waldengrave, the owner of the seventeenth-century
manor house. Price was convinced that the ghostly nun who
had been seen for generations was Marie Lairre, condemned
to wander restlessly as her spirit searched for a holy burial
ground. The wall writings were her pleas for help.
The second spirit to be contacted identified himself by the
strange name of "Sunex Amures". He claimed that
he would set fire to the rectory at nine o'clock that night.
He also said that, at that time, the bones of a murdered person
would be revealed. The predictions of Sunex Amures came to
pass, in a way, but not that night (27 March 1938). In February
1939, the new owner of the rectory reported that he was unpacking
some boxes when an oil lamp in the hallway overturned. The
fire quickly spread, and Borley Rectory was severely damaged.
An onlooker said she saw the figure of the ghostly nun in
the upstairs window. The burning of the rectory was investigated
by the insurance company and determined to be an insurance
fraud. Harry Price conducted a brief dig in the cellars of
the ruined house and, almost immediately, two bones of a young
woman were discovered. A subsequent meticulous excavation
of the cellars over three years revealed nothing further.
11. Sloss Furnace
Aprail 18, 1882, Sloss Furnaces began producing iron and
did not stop until ninety years later. Over the decades,
Sloss Furnaces gave rise to the city of Birmingham and served
as a battleground for economic, employment and social reform.
Now recognized as a National Historic Landmark, Sloss Furnaces
is open to the public as a museum of industry which speaks
to the contributions of the working men who labored there.
With its massive furnaces, web of pipes, and tall smokestacks,
it offers us a glimpse into the great industrial past of
the South and our nation.
Shut down in 1970 when it was no longer profitable for
parent company U. S. Pipe, the property was donated to the
City and is maintained as a museum, and a monument to Birmingham's
iron industry. Sloss Furnace today is a fascinating place
to visit, and a great way to gain an understanding of the
making of iron that was such a key element in the development
of the Magic City.
Sloss Furnaces has been the focus of numerous paranormal
investigations, and has appeared on many national television
programs about haunted sites. The site has been billed as
one of the nation's most haunted sites with reports of hundreds
of unexplained occurrences over the years. The annual Fright
Furnace Halloween haunted attraction capitalizes on this
legacy. Internet ghost site Dread Central has a feature
on paranormal activity at Sloss.
12. Tower of London
Often counted as the number one of the most haunted Castle
in Great Britain. Her Majesty's Royal Palace and Fortress
The Tower of London, more commonly known as the Tower of
London (and historically simply as The Tower), is an historic
monument in central London, England on the north bank of
the River Thames. It is located within the London Borough
of Tower Hamlets and is separated from the eastern edge
of the City of London by the open space known as Tower Hill.
The Tower of London is often identified with the White
Tower, the original stark square fortress built by William
the Conqueror in 1078. However, the Tower as a whole is
a complex of several buildings set within two parallel rings
of defensive walls and a moat.
The Tower's primary function was a fortress, a royal palace,
and a prison (particularly for high status and royal prisoners,
such as the Princes in the Tower and the future Queen Elizabeth
I). This last use has led to the phrase "sent to the
Tower" (meaning "imprisoned"). It has also
served as a place of execution and torture, an armoury,
a treasury, a zoo, a mint, a public records office, an observatory,
and since 1303, the home of the Crown Jewels of the United
Inside the torture chambers of the tower various implements
of torture were used such as the Scavenger's daughter, a
kind of compression device, and the Rack, also known as
the Duke of Exeter's Daughter.
Prisoners in the Tower
The Tower of London was used as a prison for those of high
rank and for religious dissidents. Those of high rank, including
prisoners of royal status, were housed in relative comfort.
Religious dissidents were however much more severely treated
and were often tortured.
The first prisoner was Ranulf
Flambard in 1100 who, as Bishop of Durham, was found guilty
of extortion. Ironically he had himself been responsible for
various improvements to the design of the Tower after the
first architect Gundulf moved back to Rochester. He escaped
from the White Tower by climbing down a rope, which had been
smuggled into his cell in a wine casket.
Other prisoners include:
John Balliol King of Scotland
David II King of Scotland
John II King of France
Charles I de Valois, Duke of Orléans was one of the
many French noblemen wounded in the Battle of Agincourt
on October 25, 1415. Captured and taken to England as a
hostage, he would remain in captivity for the next twenty-five
years, at various places including Wallingford Castle. Charles
is now remembered as an accomplished poet owing to the more
than five hundred extant poems he produced, most written
when a prisoner.
Henry VI of England was imprisoned in the Tower, where he
was murdered on the 21 of May 1471. Popular legend has accused
Richard, Duke of Gloucester of his murder. Each year on
the anniversary of Henry VI's death, the Provosts of Eton
College and King's College, Cambridge, lay roses and lilies
on the altar which now stands where he died.
Margaret of Anjou, wife of the above
Sir William de la Pole. A distant relative of King Henry
VIII, he was incarcerated at the Tower for 37 years (1502-1539)
for allegedly plotting against Henry VII thus becoming the
longest serving prisoner here.
Queen Elizabeth I, imprisoned for two months in 1554 for
her alleged involvement in Wyatt's Rebellion.
John Gerard, S.J. (1564-1637) an English Jesuit priest,
operating undercover during the reign of Queen Elizabeth
I, when Catholics were being persecuted. He was captured
and tortured and incarcerated in the Salt Tower before making
a daring escape by rope across the moat.
Sir Walter Raleigh spent thirteen years (1603-1616) imprisoned
at the Tower but was able to live in relative comfort in
the Bloody Tower with his wife and two children. For some
of the time he even grew tobacco on Tower Green, just outside
his apartment. Here he wrote The History of the World.
Niall Garve O'Donnell Irish nobleman, ironically a one-time
ally of the English against his cousin, Red Hugh O'Donnell.
Guy Fawkes, famous for his part in the Gunpowder Plot, was
brought to the Tower to be interrogated by a council of
the King's Ministers. However, he was not executed here.
When he confessed he was sentenced to be hanged, drawn and
quartered in the Old Palace Yard at Westminster, however
he escaped his fate by jumping off the scaffold at the gallows
which in turn broke his neck - killing him.
Johan Anders Jägerhorn, a Swedish officer from Finland,
Lord Edward FitzGeralds friend, participating in the Irish
independence movement. Spent two years in the Tower 1799-1801,
but was released because of Russian interests.
Lord George Gordon, instigator of the Gordon Riots in 1780,
spent 6 months in the Tower while awaiting trial on the
charge of High Treason.
Rudolf Hess, deputy leader of the German Nazi Party, the
last state prisoner to be held in the tower, in May 1941.
The Kray Twins, the last prisoners to be held, for a few
days in 1952, for failing to report for national service.
13. Kutna Hora's 'Bone' church, Sedlec Ossuary
Henry, the abbot of the Cistercian monastery in Sedlec
was sent to the Holy Land by King Otakar II of Bohemia
in 1278. When he returned, he brought with him a small
amount of earth he had removed from Golgotha and sprinkled
it over the abbey cemetery. The word of this pious act
soon spread and the cemetery in Sedlec became a desirable
burial site throughout Central Europe. During the Black
Death in the mid 14th century, and after the Hussite Wars
in the early 15th century, many thousands of people were
buried there and the cemetery had to be greatly enlarged.
Many say ghost photos, sightings and strange feelings
often overwhelm the visitors to the Chapel. Chandelier
made of bones and skulls and many other macabre decorative
designs by František Rint.
the Gothic church was built in the center of the cemetery
with a vaulted upper level and a lower chapel to be used
as an ossuary for the mass graves unearthed during construction,
or simply slated for abolition to make room for new burials.
After 1511 the task of exhuming skeletons and stacking
their bones in the chapel was, according to legend, given
to a half-blind monk of the order.
Read More Here Now !
The largest cemetery in the city of Paris, France and one
of the most famous in the world. Père-Lachaise is
located on Boulevard de Ménilmontant, The cemetery
takes its name from Père François de la Chaise
(1624-1709), the confessor of Louis XIV, who lived in the
Jesuit house rebuilt in 1682 on the site of the chapel.
Jim Morrison — Grave
American singer, songwriter, author, and poet. Permanent
crowds and occasional vandalism surrounding this tomb have
caused tensions with the families of other, less famous,
deceased. The cemetery has been forced to hire a full-time
security guard for the grave. Many other parts of the cemetery
have been defaced with arrows purporting to indicate the
direction toward "Jim", though even these defacements
have in many cases been defaced themselves, resulting in
arrows that point in two directions.
The cemetery was established by Napoleon in 1804. Cemeteries
had been banned inside Paris in 1786, after the closure
of the Cimetière des Innocents on the fringe of Les
Halles food market, on the grounds that it presented a health
Oscar Wilde, Jim Morrison, Alice B. Toklas, Countess Consuelo
de Saint-Exupéry, Charles Messier, Yves Montand and
Clarence John Laughlin — American Surrealist photographer
from New Orleans, Louisiana. His most famous published work
was "Ghosts Along the Mississippi" and Sarah Bernhardt
— famous French stage and film actress.
16. Magh Sleacht Plain, near Ballyconnell,
County Cavan, Ireland
Cavan is a sparsely populated
county in north central Ireland, immediately south of the
border with Northern Ireland and midway between the Atlantic
Ocean and the Irish Sea. The countryside is dotted with lakes
and hills, and the River Shannon, the longest in Ireland,
originates in the rugged Cuilcagh Mountains in the west of
Cairn tombs and crannog islands dating from ancient times
abound in Cavan and Magh Sleacht Plain, near Ballyconnell,
was once an important Celtic pagan shrine. Here was located
the dreaded Crom Cruach, the Bloody Bent One, the Elder
King, the Chief Idol of Ireland.
In ancient days Magh Sleacht, which means “Plain
of Adoration,” was the location of a mighty stone,
covered all in hammered gold, which was the stone image
of Crom Cruach. In those days, he was surrounded by twelve
smaller stones, gods in ready attendance on the whims of
the mighty Old One. Here parents came to sacrifice one third
of their children to Crom on Samhain night (October 31st)
in exchange for a year full of milk, corn, fertile cattle
and a fertile growing season. The god horrified many because
of his terrible demands and it was dangerous to worship
him because worshippers themselves often died in the orgiastic
bloodbath that he required.
The worship of Crom Cruach is said to have been demanded
by King Tigernmas whom some describe as a Roman Chieftain,
while others claim he was one of the last of the Formorian
Kings. Still others believe Crom to be the manifestation
of Moloch, the ancient god of the idolatrous Hebrews to
whom they sacrificed half their newborn children in a trial
by fire. The similarities do not end there. King Tigernmas
himself died in worship of the Bloody Bent One, killed by
rabid followers in an orgy of blood.
Many believe that the legend is simply that, a legend.
Others point to the mention of Crom Cruach in the St. Patrick
legend: they claim that when Patrick established Christianity
at nearby Armagh, he went to Magh Sleacht and defeated Crom,
and having done so, caused the golden idol to sink into
the earth. In recent times, however, some followers of the
pagan faith have rediscovered Crom Cruach and, perhaps he
has been waiting patiently to answer their call.
17. St. Louis Cemetery Number 1, New Orleans,
The Voodoo Queen still lives on today in this the second
most haunted cemetery in the world in the new worlds most
haunted city New Orleans. If only in legend. Her grave is
visited by the faithful and the curious year round. Many
come to her tomb and place small offerings there. Like beans,
food or Monkey and Cock statues and various real Voodoo
items. Many make chalk marks on the face of her stone tomb,
in the sign of three x's or a cross. " The most popular
tourist site to have your possible brush with the supernatural.
But there is more to Haunted New Orleans best most haunted
Cemetery then just the supernatural locale. It's an experience
you will never forget!" 3421 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans,
The burials are in above ground vaults; most were constructed
in the 18th century and 19th century. The above-ground tombs,
required here because the ground water levels make burial
impractical in New Orleans, are strongly reminiscent of
the tombs of Père Lachaise cemetery in Paris. The
three cemeteries are relatively intact following Hurricane
Katrina, although all experienced some flooding.
If you are a Stephen King fan, request room 217. It was
in this room that King, inspired by the hotel, wrote half
of "The Shining." Room 418 seems to have the most
ghostly activity reported. In fact, the entire fourth floor
(formerly the servants quarters) is quite active. Often,
the sound of children playing in the halls can be heard,
even when no children are present. >
Read More Here Now about the ghosts
of the Stanley Hotel <
Waverly Hills Sanatorium, located in Louisville, Kentucky,
opened in 1910 as a two-story hospital to accommodate 40
to 50 tuberculosis patients. It has since come to be considered
one of the most haunted buildings in the Eastern United
States. In the early 20th century, Jefferson County was
severely stricken with an outbreak of tuberculosis. The
original Waverly Hills building was soon home to over 140
patients. A larger hospital was needed for the overwhelming
number of patients coming in, so construction of a five-story
building that could hold more than 400 patients began in
The new building opened on October 17, 1926, and was eventually
closed in June 1961. The building was reopened in 1962 as
Woodhaven Geriatrics Hospital; Woodhaven was closed in 1981
due to patient abuse. >
READ MORE HERE<
21. The Winchester Mystery House
California mansion that was under construction continuously
for 38 years. Deeply saddened by the deaths of her daughter
and husband, and seeking solace, Sarah Winchester consulted
a medium on the advice of a friend.
According to popular history, the medium, who has become
known colloquially as the "Boston Medium", told
Winchester that there was a curse upon the Winchester family
because the guns they made had taken so many lives. She
told Winchester that "thousands of persons have died
because of it and their spirits are now seeking vengeance."
> READ MORE HERE <
22. Chickamauga National Battlefield
The 5,200 acre Chickamauga Battlefield, scene of the last
major Confederate victory of the Civil War, contains numerous
monuments, historical tablets, wayside exhibits, and trails.
Major points of interest can be reached by following the
seven-mile auto tour. The Visitor Center includes exhibits,
a bookstore, and the Claud E. and Zenada O. Fuller Collection
of American Military Shoulder Arms.
The four Union generals given credit for bringing an end
to the Civil War (Generals Ulysses S. Grant, William T.
Sherman, George H. Thomas, and Philip Sheridan) were all
in Chattanooga in the autumn of 1863. There are stories
of ghost soldiers, and the sounds of gun shots, marching,
crying, and moaning.
> READ MORE HERE<
23. The White House
The White House - its kitchens are reputedly haunted by
Mamie Eisenhower, wife of President Dwight D. Eisenhower.
Mrs. Eisenhower had a difficult relationship with household
staff who worked in the kitchens. After her husband left
the presidency, kitchen staff during the Kennedy and Johnson
presidencies reported finding the kitchen reorganised overnight
back to the way Mamie had demanded.
Lincoln's ghost is just one of the many spooks and specters
top roam the great halls. After Lincoln's assassination
in April 1865, Mary Todd Lincoln attempted to stay in contact
with her dead husband through private readings and seances.
Whether she achieved genuine communication with the late
president will never be known. Mary also visited the studio
of William Mumler, a Boston engraver who claimed to photograph
the dead. This photo (right) of Mary with the ghostly Lincoln
was the result of her sitting with Mumler.
In 1869, Mumler was arrested for public fraud, larceny,
and obtaining money under false pretenses. The highly-publicized
trial ended in dismissal for lack of evidence. Was Mumler
a fraud? Probably, although many of his sitters claimed
to recognize loved ones in Mumler's photos who had never
been photographed in life. Others claimed that some of the
"spirits" in his pictures had been identified
as living models.
For further research on Mumler and his "spirit"
images, visit the American Museum of Photography's The Mumler
Mystery. This site includes many examples of Mumler's carte
de visites with background on each image.
After the death 'Mamie reorganisations' were reported
by a number of staff in the kitchen who could find no explanation
for the changes and none of the security staff on duty saw
anyone entering or exiting the kitchens at night. Some staff
claimed to have seen Mamie on occasion in the kitchen rummaging
Machu Picchu ( (Quechua: Machu Pikchu Old Peak;
sometimes called the "Lost City") is a pre-Columbian
city created by the Inca Empire. It is located at 2,430 m
(7,970 ft) on a mountain ridge. Machu Picchu is located
above the Urubamba Valley in Peru, about 70 km (44 mi) northwest
of Cusco. Forgotten for centuries by the outside world, although
not by locals, it was brought back to international attention
by archaeologist Hiram Bingham in 1911, who made the first
scientific confirmation of the site and wrote a best-selling
work about it. Peru is pursuing legal efforts to retrieve
thousands of artifacts that Bingham removed from the site.
Machu Picchu is probably the most familiar symbol of the Inca
Empire. Often referred to as "The Lost City of the Incas".
The site was designated as a World Heritage Site in 1983 when
it was described as "and absolute masterpiece of architecture
and a unique testimony to the Inca civilisation".
Many call it the most Mystical Place on earth
and have reported paranormal expierences and enlightment.
Machu Picchu was constructed around 1450, at the height of
the Inca empire, and was abandoned less than 100 years later,
as the empire collapsed under Spanish conquest. Although the
citadel is located only about 50 miles from Cusco, the Inca
capital, it was never found and destroyed by the Spanish,
as were many other Inca sites. Over the centuries, the surrounding
jungle grew to enshroud the site, and few knew of its existence.
In 1911, Yale historian and explorer Hiram Bingham brought
the “lost” city to the world’s attention.
Bingham and others hypothesized that the citadel was the traditional
birthplace of the Inca people or the spiritual center of the
“virgins of the sun,” while curators of a recent
exhibit have speculated that Machu Picchu was a royal retreat.
It is thought that the site was chosen for its unique location
and geological features. It is said that the silhouette of
the mountain range behind Machu Picchu represents the face
of the Inca looking upward towards the sky, with the largest
peak, Huayna Picchu (meaning Young Peak), representing his
In 1913, the site received significant publicity
after the National Geographic Society devoted their entire
April issue to Machu Picchu.
On July 7th, 2007, Machu Picchu was voted as one of New Open
World Corporation's New Seven Wonders of the World.
25. Driskill Hotel in Austin, Texas
One of the most famous hotels in the state of Texas, and
long a gathering place for the state's political players,
it is said to be haunted by at least half a dozen ghosts,
including the spirit of a young girl heard bouncing a ball
down the main stairs; the ghost of founder Jesse Driskill
himself; and a "suicide bride" who killed herself
in room 427 in 1989.
The hotel enjoyed a grand opening on December 20, 1886,
and was featured in a special edition of the Austin Daily
Statesman. In January 1887, Governor Sul Ross held his inaugural
ball in its ballroom, beginning a tradition for every Texas
Driskill unfortunately did not have the clientele to match
the splendor of his four-star hotel. At a time when other
hotels were 50 cents to one dollar per night, Driskill charged
$2.50 to $5.00 (including meals), an exorbitant sum at what
was then still relatively a Wild West town. Following the
loss of a great fortune in cattle drives, Driskill was forced
to close the hotel in May 1887, less than a year after it
opened. According to legend, he lost the entire hotel in
a game of poker to his brother-in-law, Jim "Doc"
Day, who became its second owner.
The hotel changed hands several times through the turn
of the century, and went through boom and bust cycles along
with the city of Austin. The original building was expanded
in 1929 with a thirteen-story tower.
The Driskill was threatened with demolition in 1969, and
most of its furnishings sold, but was saved from the wrecking
ball at almost the last minute when a non-profit organization
called the Driskill Hotel Corporation raised $500,000. The
hotel re-opened in 1971, under management of the Braniff
Airways corporation and has remained successful since.
Throughout its history, the Driskill has become a centerpiece
for Austin's high society, and especially in its early years,
a common meeting place for Texas state congressmen, where
many "backroom deals" were said to go down.
The Driskill was where future president Lyndon B. Johnson
took his wife, Lady Bird Johnson on their first date. It
became his campaign headquarters during his congressional
career, and became his home base on return trips to Austin
as President. He watched the results of the 1964 Presidential
Election from its presidential suite and addressed supporters
from its ballroom after his victory.
Today the Driskill remains one of the premier hotels in
Texas, featuring lavish bridal suites, two restaurants,
and a grand ballroom. It is also well-known for being one
of the most haunted hotels in the United States, featuring
as many as half a dozen ghosts throughout the building.
The hotel is located at 601 Brazos Street. It was listed
in the National Register of Historic Places in 1969.
According to Austin Ghost Tours, Driskill makes his presence
known by the smell of cigar smoke. He is believed to turn
bathroom lights on and off in several guest rooms on the
top floors of the hotel.Another apparition is the four-year-old
daughter of a US Senator. She haunts the grand staircase
leading from the mezzanine down to the lobby. The little
girl was playing unattended with a ball when she slipped
and fell to the marble floor at the bottom of the stairs
and was killed. The front desk staff has heard the child
bouncing the ball down the steps and giggling.
A Houston woman in the early 1990s took a trip to the Driskill
to try and recuperate from a marriage that her fiancé
called off at the last minute . Staying in Room 29 she decided
the way to help herself recoup, would be to go on a week
long shopping spree with her fiancé’s credit
cards. She was last seen coming out of the elevator on the
fourth floor with her arms filled with numerous bags and
packages. Her body was discovered three days later when
the housekeepers became concerned that she hadn’t
left the room to eat. She was found lying in the bathtub.
She had shot herself in the stomach muffling the sound with
a pillow. The Austin Police Department crime scene photographer
reported it was a sad scene to see such a young women commit
suicide when she could have had a long, happy life ahead
For more of the top 100
places to see a real ghost and have a Paranormal Encounter.
Please visit here!
Some of these Top 100 Most allegedly haunted
places are known for their haunted cemeteries, houses, buildings,
Roads, hotels, & battlefields and churches. And in some
cases a city may be listed and in other spots a haunted hot
spot. Please feel free to use this as a Paranormal Travel
Guide when planning your next haunted destination ghost
hunt or vacation. There are literally thousands of haunted
places around the world, and this list only compiles a small
number of them.
So please read these very haunted ghost stories
and watch a real ghost video or two. And be sure to visit
America Tours Home Page
to find more then your heart should take. This web site is
not for the squeamish. These Very real Haunted places are
sid to be the best places to capture a real ghost on film,
video, or digital voice recorder or have a real paranormal
HAUNTED AMERICA TOURS Official Web Site is a
ghost tour information site; our information is only as reliable
as readers' contributed ghost and haunted reports. We assume
no credit for your adventures, and accept no liability for
your misadventures. Use common sense. Read our ghost hunting
recommendations. Before visiting any "haunted" site,
verify the location, accessibility, safety, and other important
information. Never trespass on private and/or posted property
without permission from the proper authorities.
Unexplained ghost photos you want to see!
The condition, pareidolia,
is a condition that causes someone to recognize human faces
or forms in random patterns. Is this just what some of our ghost
reported real ghost photos just might well be.
Visit True Ghost Tales and Ghost Photos
to read real true ghost stories sent in by readers like you
site is being developed for the paranormal enthusiast seeking
a home turf haunted adventure. Our skilled staff is busily assembling
a wide and varied selection of tantalizing destinations -- from
slightly off the beaten path to certifiably haunted! We have enlisted
the skills of numerous paranormal investigative organizations
and independent psychics to seek out the famous and the infamous:
whatever your fascination, be it ghosts, vampires, werewolves,
haunted places -- Haunted America Tours is the expert choice to
begin your adventure.