At the height of Rome’s power the Coliseum represented
everything that was Imperial to the citizens of Rome. Gladiators
would fight to the death here for the amusement of Caesar
and the mobs; thousands of prisoners of war and victims
of religious persecution met their end in the jaws of lions
and tigers in the sandy arena of the Coliseum; and even
those animals were decimated, for in its time the Coliseum
consumed tens of thousands of animals, some reportedly driven
into extinction by the Roman lust for blood and gore.
The workings of the Coliseum, the place where the real
grit of life took place, were in the vaults beneath the
sandy floor. Now long ago exposed by the ravages of time,
there is still a pervasive feeling of awe associated with
the lingering presence of a power so mighty it once encompassed
the entire known world.
In the pits beneath the Coliseum gladiators waited to fight,
prisoners waited to die, and average Romans placed bets
on the outcomes of myriad competitions. Such a fabric of
life can’t help but wrap itself around the pillars
and posts that make up the foundation of this ancient charnel
house, and it is no surprise that many reports of ghostly
activity have been associated with the Coliseum over the
Tour guides and visitors alike have reported cold spots,
being touched or pushed, hearing indiscernible words whispered
into their ears; security guards with the unenviable task
of securing the ancient edifice have reported hearing the
sounds of swords clashing, of weeping in the more remote
areas, and, oddly enough most disconcerting, the sound of
ghostly animal noises such as the roars of lions and elephants.
Ghostly citizens have been seen among the seats of the Coliseum,
and the sight of a Roman soldier standing guard, silhouetted
against the night sky, is a common one.
With such ancient history and such a legacy of death and
bloodshed, there is little wonder why the Roman Coliseum
is one of the most haunted places in the world.
Sallie Ann Glassman's New Orleans Voodoo Peryistyle. It is
said to be haunted by the many spirits and Loas that arr often
called upon. The bywater area of New Orleans is said to be
very haunted in the first place. Many weekly and annual rituals
are held here such as the Hurricane protection, Public prayer
ceremony dedicated to Our Lady of Prompt Succor (who has intervened
historically on New Orleans? behalf when a hurricane has threatened)
and Ezili Dant? (also associated with Mater Salvatoris and
Mt Carmel) to ask for protection from hurricanes, Day of the
dead and many more.
Artosot Autor John Chase tells the story of how Josephine
Alley in New Orleans, some years back, went about a name change.
Locals wanted to change Josephine Alley (off North Rampart
between Piety and Desire) to the more elegant Beauharnais
Alley. But the alley was not named for Napoleon’s Joséphine
but for a “neighborhood personality”. So they
renamed it Rosalie Alley for “another neighborhood personality”.
Today (and for several years now) yet another local personality,
Mambo Sallie Ann Glassman (Voudou priestess) hosts an annual
prayer ceremony,Voodoo Practioners home to the Island of Salvation
Botanica and La Source Ancienne Vodou Society, Achade Meadows
Peristyle at 3319 Rosalie Alley.
RMS Queen Mary is an ocean liner that sailed the North
Atlantic Ocean from 1936 to 1967 for Cunard Line (then Cunard
White Star Line). Built by John Brown and Company, Clydebank,
Scotland, she was designed to be the first of Cunard's planned
two-ship weekly express service from Southampton to Cherbourg
to New York, in answer to the mainland European superliners
of the late twenties and early thirties. Queen Mary and
her slightly larger and younger running mate RMS Queen Elizabeth
commenced this two-ship service after their release from
World War II troop transport duties and continued it for
two decades until Queen Mary's retirement in 1967. The ship
is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, and
is permanently berthed in Long Beach, California serving
as a museum ship and hotel. The Queen Mary celebrated the
70th anniversary of her launch in both Clydebank with Clydebank
Restoration Trust and in Long Beach during 2004, and the
70th anniversary of her maiden voyage in 2006.
ThePGHS.com Film short about the haunted
Queen Mary, and the investigation by the Pacific Ghost Hunting
Society and the resulting photo and EVP evidence
Ghosts have been reported on board only after she reached
California. Many areas are rumored to be haunted. Reports
of hearing little children crying in the nursery room, actually
used as the third class playroom, and a mysterious splash
noise in the drained first class swimming pool are cited.
In 1966, 18 year old fireman John Pedder was crushed by
a watertight door in the engine room during a drill, and
his ghost is said to haunt the ship. This aspect of the
Queen Mary has been carefully used as part of marketing
the ship in recent years, much to the dismay of her maritime
Raynham Hall in Norfolk, England, is most famous for the
ghost of "the Brown Lady," which was captured
on film in 1936 in what is considered one of the most authentic
ghost pictures ever taken.
The Unexplained Site describes one of the first encounters
with the spirit: "The first known sighting happened
during the 1835 Christmas season. Colonel Loftus, who happened
to be visiting for the holidays, was walking to his room
late one night when he saw a strange figure ahead of him.
As he tried to gain a better look, the figure promptly disappeared.
The next week, the Colonel was again came upon the woman.
He described her as a noble woman who wore a brown satin
dress. Her face seemed to glow, which highlighted her empty
55. Okiku's Well at Himeji Castle
Often said to be haunted by the ghost of Okiku. She is
supposed to rise from the well at night and count to nine
before shrieking and returning to the well. The ghost story
of Okiku, an unfortunate servant maid, is one of the best
known and was transformed into a Kabuki play and numerous
Some stories, however, locate the haunted well in the
Canadian embassy in Tokyo's garden.
There are different versions of the ghost story of Okiku.
What they all have in common is the description of her ghost
coming out of the well and counting from one to nine and
then breaking out into a heart-rendering sobbing.
In another version, Okiku really breaks a plate and is
killed by her master and her corpse is thrown into the well.
In yet another version, it is the wife of Aoyama, who breaks
the plate. To hide her guilt, she throws the broken plate
into the well and accuses Okiku of having it stolen. In
this version she is also killed by her master for punishment
and thrown into the well.
There is also an alternate version for the end of the story.
To stop the nightly sobbing, a friend of the family of Aoyama
is hired. He is hiding at the well during the night and
after Okiku had counted from one to nine, he is stepping
forward shouting loudly "ten". From then on the
ghost of Okiku was never seen again.
One of the tourist attractions on Himeji Castle is Okiku's
well. In the Himeji version, Okiku was a servant of Aoyama,
a retainer who planned a plot against his lord. Okiku overheard
the plot and reported it to her lover, a loyal warrior.
The plot was averted. When Aoyama found out that Okiku had
been the cause for his failure, he decided to kill her.
So he accused her of having stolen one of ten valuable dishes.
She was tortured to death and thrown into the well.
Okiku's well on Himeji Castle is in competition with another
location of the well, the garden of the Canadian embassy
in Tokyo - established on land bought from the Aoyama family.
Looks like there are at least as many locations of the well
of the poor girl as there are different versions of her
All the variations of the ghost story of Okiku have an
extremely wrongful and cruel treatment of a poor girl of
the lower classes in common. But different from the ghost
story of Yotsuya, revenge towards the tormenter is not the
big Leitmotiv (apart from one variation of the story).
Shinkei Sanju-roku Kai Sen - 36 New Ghosts
Among the artists designing ghost subjects, Yoshitoshi Tsukioka
(1839-1892) should be mentioned in first place. Yoshitoshi
strongly believed in the existence of ghosts and was convinced
that he had personally seen supernatural apparitions in
The print of The Ghost of Okiku at the Dish Mansion was
part of the series Shinkei Sanju-roku Kai Sen. It was Yoshitoshi's
last series before his death (together with one One Hundred
Aspects of the Moon) and was published from 1889 to 1892.
The series can be found under different English translations
like New Selection of 36 Apparitions or Thirty-six New Ghosts.
Towards the end of his life, the subjects of Yoshitoshi's
prints were predominantly chosen from Japan's rich cultural
tradition and history. It was an appeal of the artist to
his countrymen not to give up their traditional values in
exchange for the Western modernization that had begun in
the Meiji period.
56. George Stickney House
Bull Valley, Illinois, has a unique design due to Stickney's
belief in spiritualism. It is thought that he and his wife
wished to communicate with their dead children. Today the
house is the local police department, and it is claimed
that police report strange sounds, objects moving around,
lights turning off, and door knobs turning and doors opening
by themselves. Other homes in the area are also rumored
to be haunted. The nearby Holcombville cemetery includes
tombs of the Stickney children and a person killed in the
crash of American Airlines Flight 191.
The house is widely considered bizarre due
to its design, which was based, in part, on George Stickney's
belief in spiritualism.
As an adherent to spiritualism, Stickney believed that
the spirits in his house required the freedom to roam without
getting caught in corners. Therefore, the home's interior
is designed with no 90 degree angles between the walls.
Every "corner" in the house is rounded.
The Stickneys may have drifted toward spiritualism as a
way to communicate with their dead children; they had twelve
children but only three survived to adulthood. It is known
that the family conducted seances on the second floor of
the building. In the years since the house left the hands
of the Stickney family, owners have reported supernatural
Today the mansion is occupied by the Village of Bull Valley
and its police department.
In 2005 Bull Valley Police Chief Norbert Sauers described
his experiences with possible paranormal events in the Stickney
Mansion. Sauers said that village employees have heard numerous
sounds that seem to defy explanation. He described hearing
footsteps in the second floor ballroom, a room that today
is used only as storage for village records but was used
for seances when the Stickneys owned the mansion. The footstep
sounds have extended out onto the stairwell at times. Other
occurrences include hearing human sounding noises or voices.
They sometimes even hear the toilets flushing when they
are alone in the house.
The Chief said he has also personally experienced objects
moving around on his desk, lights turning off and, door
knobs turning and a door opening, seemingly by themselves,
and voices from thin air, having once heard a shout in his
ear when no one was around him. Another police officer in
Bull Valley claims to have come face to face with an apparition
of Stickney's father-in-law.
According to a local news report, "[o]ver the years,
two men who carry a badge and gun" have quit their
jobs over the supernatural events
57. Summerwind Mansion
Formerly known as Lamont Mansion, is a now derelict mansion-house
on the shores of West Bay Lake. It is reputed to be one
of the most haunted locations in Wisconsin. Due to abandonment,
the elements and fire, little of the mansion currently remains
standing. For a while it was popular with paranormal tourists.
After remaining vacant for some time, the house became
the residence of Arnold and Ginger Hinshaw and their six
children, who moved in during the early 1970s. It is from
this time onwards that most of the haunting reports originate.
After taking up residence the Hinshaw reported a number
of strange occurrences, ranging from flickering shadows
that appeared to move down the hallways and soft voices
that stopped when they entered rooms, to unexplained electrical/mechanical
problems and sash windows that raised themselves. They also
reported seeing the ghost of an unknown woman who appeared
several times in the vicinity of the house's dining room.
Urban legend holds that after experiencing extended difficulties
retaining workmen the Hinshaw decided to renovate the house
themselves. During these renovations, Arnold is said to
have removed a shoe draw from a fitted closest and to have
discovered a hidden recess behind it. In that recess Arnold
discovered what he at first took to be the remains of an
animal. However, because of the cramped entrance, he could
not be certain of what he had seen. Later that day, he sent
his daughter Mary into the recess to see what the unidentified
object really was, only for Mary to discover a human skull
and strands of black hair. No report of the find was ever
made to the police and the veracity of the legend has never
been determined. The body was reported to have vanished
when Ginger's father and brother investigated the recess,
several years later.
Despite protests from Ginger, in Fall 1972 the mansion
was acquired from Mrs. Keefer by Ginger's father, businessman
Raymond Von Bober and her mother Marie; who intended to
convert it into a restaurant and boarding house.
The Bober's attempts to renovate the house suffered from
many of the same problems as the Hinshaw's attempt. Bober's
son Karl; who traveled to the house alone in order to arrange
estimates and pest control work, also reported a variety
of unnerving events including voices and an apparent supernatural
reenactment of the alleged 1930s Lemont incident.
At this time, workmen also reported feeling uncomfortable
and complained of missing tools and other happenings, including
that when they attempted to draw blueprints the dimensions
of the house would change, with some rooms producing larger
measurements on some days than on others. Photographs taken
of the same location, on the same film, were also said to
show a single room being several different sizes even if
they were taken seconds apart, or to show furnishings that
had been in the room when the Hinshaws had lived there,
but which had since been removed.
After experiencing several apparently supernatural incidents,
and a number of conventional difficulties, Bober abandoned
his plans to convert Summerwind by 1979 (at which point
the land again reverted back to Mrs. Keefer) and instead
applied for permission to operate a concessions stand near
by, but his application was turned down due to problems
with local ordinance.
Bober documented his experiences in Summerwind and published
them in 1979, under the pseudonym of “Wolfgang Von
Bober”. In June 1988 Summerwind was struck by lightning
several times, resulting in a fire that destroyed much of
the mansion. Today, only the house's chimney stacks, foundations
and stone steps remain.
After In Wolfgang Von Bober relinquished the property it
was sold one more time but again reverted back to Mrs. Keefer.
In 1986, by which time the mansion had fallen into disrepair,
Sumerwind was purchased (from the estate of Mrs. Keefer)
by a group of three investors.
In June 1988 Summerwind was struck by lightning several
times, resulting in a fire that destroyed much of the mansion.
Today, only the house's chimney stacks, foundations and
stone steps remain.
58. The Valley of the Kings, Luxor, Egypt
Wadi Biban el-Muluk; "Gates of the King")is
a valley in Egypt where for a period of nearly 500 years
from the 16th to 11th century BC, tombs were constructed
for the kings and powerful nobles of the New Kingdom (the
Eighteenth through Twentieth Dynasties of Ancient Egypt).
The valley stands on the west bank of the Nile, across
from Thebes (modern Luxor), within the heart of the Theban
Necropolis. The wadi consists of two valleys, East Valley
(where the majority of the royal tombs situated) and West
Some Beleive it is the Ghosts of The great dead Kings
and Royal Families that lead to these modern discoveries.
And many who visit the Vlley say they are overcome by
the feeling of something really supernatural.
Stories of "the mummy's curse" or "King
Tut's curse" excited the world after the discovery
in 1922 of the ancient pharaoh's tomb in Egypt. Lord Carnarvon,
a British sponsor of archaeology in Egypt, died shortly
after attending the tomb's opening, inspiring speculation
that supernatural forces were at work.
The official name for the site in ancient times was The
Great and Majestic Necropolis of the Millions of Years
of the Pharaoh, Life, Strength, Health in The West of
Thebes, or more usually, Ta-sekhet-ma'at (the Great Field).
The Valley of the Kings has been a major area of modern
Egyptological exploration for the last two centuries.
Before this the area was a site for tourism in antiquity
(especially during Roman times). This areas illustrates
the changes in the study of ancient Egypt, starting as
antiquity hunting, and ending as scientific excavation
of the whole Theban Necropolis. Despite the exploration
and investigation noted below, only eleven of the tombs
have actually been completely recorded.
The area has been a focus of concentrated archaeological
and egyptological exploration since the end of the eighteenth
century, and its tombs and burials continue to stimulate
research and interest. In modern times the valley has
become famous for the discovery of the tomb of Tutankhamun
(with its rumours of the Curse of the Pharaohs, and is
one of the most famous archaeological sites in the world.
In 1979, along with the rest of the Theban Necropolis,
it became a World Heritage Site.
On February 8, 2006, the Supreme Council of Antiquities
announced that an American team led by the University
of Memphis had uncovered a pharaonic-era tomb (KV63),
the first uncovered there since King Tutankhamun's in
1922. The 18th Dynasty tomb included five mummies in intact
sarcophagi with coloured funerary masks along with more
than 20 large storage jars, sealed with pharaonic seals.
It is located close to the tomb of Tutankhamun. KV63,
as it is known, appears to be a single chamber with five
or six sarcophagi and about 20 large funerary jars. The
chamber is from the 18th dynasty and it appears to have
been a deposit of funerary preparation materials, rather
than a tomb.
Valley of the Kings East Valley, Thebes
West Bank, Thebes New Kingdom,
Dynasty 18, Tutankhamun
On 31 July 2006, Nicholas Reeves announced that analysis
of ground penetrating radar for the autumn of 2000 showed
a sub-surface anomaly in the area of KV62 and KV63
59. St. Peter's Church Cemetery
Haunted Philadelphia - The
Scariest Spot in Philadelphia ... The entire region is known
for its historic sites, colonial-era graveyards and centuries-old
buildings, some dating back to pre-Revolutionary War days.
What many people don't know is that many of the original residents
of historic Philadelphia never left town. The Philadelphia
area is among America's most haunted destinations. has been
home to ghosts for more than a century. Some spectators have
seen a horse-drawn carriage charging through the center of
the graveyard and through the church. Others say restless
Native American chiefs roam the grounds and the spirit of
a colonial African American man can sometimes be seen walking
in the graveyard by moonlight. 4th & Pine Streets
60. Houston, Texas
Paranormal Investigators in Texas know everything about
it's very haunted history and The Lone Star sporits are
more then dead their lively! The most notable haunted hot
The Spaghetti Warehouse 901 Commerce St, Houston, TX This
former warehouse's long-ago owner allegedly died after falling
down an elevator shaft. Moans and screams of somone in pain
are often heard day and night. Other paranormal Texas ghostly
activity includes a lady in white and moving utensils. Ghost
hunting in this warehouse can be down right spooky, equipment
goes wild then will refuse to work.
La Carafe 813 Congress St, Houston, TX
This pre-Civil War building's bar is believed to have a
haunted second floor, but many say the entire building is
haunted. children crying can be heard and the shadow figure
of a large red dog is often seen and heard
Battleship Texas State Historic Site 3527 Battleground
Rd, La Porte, TX
Some visitors to this state park attraction claim to have
seen the ghost of an unidentified sailor on the second deck.
Esperson Building 808 Travis St, Houston, TX
Legend has it that Mellie Esperson's spirit still roams
the building's halls and elevators which are said to manifest
Treebeards 315 Travis St, Houston , TX
Located in the Travis building (the second oldest in Houston),
some staff have reported ghost sightings and other unexplained
activity. From soft ghostly whispers to the sound of a man
"Rumor has it that an old caretaker
and his dog lived in the basement of the old Downtown Houston
Library. The caretaker loved to play his violin (fiddle)
after hours. He's no longer alive, but the tunes he played
can occasionally still be faintly heard."
Prague is one of the most haunted cities in Europe. There
are water goblins under the Charles Bridge, a headless horseman,
a huge fat ghost and a fiery coach. A golem made of clay
ran amok in the Jewish Quarter and Emperor Rudolph II invited
magicians, astrologers and alchemists from all over Europe
to his court.
One of the most popular tourist sights is the Charles Bridge
and this has its fair share of ghosts and folklore. For
ten years the heads of ten lords executed in the Middle
Ages were stuck on poles on the bridge. Their ghosts are
said to haunt the bridge today - even singing melancholy
songs around midnight to terrify passers by. Prague is widely
considered to be one of the most beautiful cities in Europe
and belongs to the most visited cities on the continent
On the bridge stands a statue of the mythical prince Bruncvik.
It is said that his magical sword is buried in his statue:
a sword so deadly that it could cut off heads without any
help from its owner. Under the bridge lives a water goblin
who eats the souls of those drowned by jumping off the bridge.
The city flourished during the 14th century during the
reign of Charles IV, of the Luxembourg dynasty. The 17th
century is considered the Golden Age of Jewish Prague. The
Jewish community of Prague numbered some 15,000 people (approx.
30 per cent of the entire population), making it the largest
Ashkenazic community in the world and the second largest
community in Europe after Thessaloniki. In the years 1597
to 1609, the Maharal (Judah Loew ben Bezalel) served as
Prague's chief rabbi. He is considered the greatest of Jewish
scholars in Prague's history, his tomb in the Old Jewish
Cemetery eventually becoming a pilgrimage site.
There is also a wonderful ghostly coaches. Seen and heard
as the hooves and wheels clatter over the cobbles. In one
of them sits a monk with his head in his lap. His particular
ghostly coach is drawn by huge black billy goats. The monk
asks anyone he sees for a coin. One woman threw him a counterfeit
coin and ran off. Unfortunately the monk came and found
her and she was found dead the next morning with the shape
of a coin branded into her forehead.
62. Jonesborough, Tennessee
Often counted as the number one of the most Place to
visit. Jonesborough was founded in 1779, seventeen years
before Tennessee was granted statehood. It was named after
North Carolina legislator, Willie Jones, who supported
North Carolina's westward expansion over the Appalachian
Mountains. Here you'll learn about the former President,
Andrew Jackson's encounter with the infamous "Bell
Witch" of Adams, Tennessee - the subject matter of
the motion picture entitled "An American Haunting";
in addition, we offer Historic Erwin and the Nolichucky
Settlement beginning 1760; in Johnson City we have three
tours including the East Tennessee State University campus,
Tipton-Haynes Historic Site, as well as a hiking adventure
entitled "Legendary Buffalo Mountain"; Historic
Blountville, Rogersville, and Greeneville Tennessee GhostWalks
detail ghostly true stories from the Civil War. Also tour
of Historic Abingdon Virginia GhostWalk just a few minutes
drive from Bristol.
Jonesborough is also the home to the National Storytelling
Festival, drawing people nationwide to participate in
the unique event. The festival takes place in October
of each year. Large tents are pitched in parks around
town and storytellers sit on stages or at the head of
the tent to perform. Occasionally performances are interrupted
for a moment by a passing Norfolk Southern Railway train.
Some stories have morals, define cultural traditions,
or entertain. Stories about tribal nations, telling right
from wrong, and small-town culture have been past topics.
Some storytellers write musical scores which are incorporated
into their stories. The Festival partly ties into an Appalachian
cultural tradition of storytelling. The existence of a
storytelling graduate degree program at a nearby university
reflects this tradition.
While exploring some of the most historic streets in
the state, visitors can even have ghostly adventure. Andrew
Jackson had strong ties to Jonesborough, Tennessee. It
was here that he began his law practice in the late 1700s.
And during that time, he stayed at the cabin belonging
to Christopher Taylor, located about a mile outside of
town. Recently the cabin was removed from its original
spot and reconstructed in the town's park. The ghost of
former U.S. president Andrew Jackson has occasionally
been spotted there--usually on foggy nights. The ghost
walks up to the front door and disappears into the building.
The ghost has also been seen walking down the street,
in the direction of the old courthouse.
Victorian elegance rising from the sand and surf, the
Hotel Galvez - A Wyndham Historic Hotel in Galveston,
Texas, was known as the "Queen of the Gulf"
on the day she opened in 1911. For nearly a century, this
charming Galveston hotel has been the choice of guests
as demanding and diverse as Teddy Roosevelt, Howard Hughes
and Frank Sinatra. A $9-million renovation has restored
the Hotel Galvez to its rightful place as a timeless showplace
on the Gulf of Mexico. Workers have seen figures of the
lady and hear her whimpers as she walks down the back
The Galvez is also home to a very haunted painting. The
haunted portrait of Bernardo de
Galvez hangs at the very end of the long hall
at the Hotel Galvez. Many who see it get a chill for they
say they can feel his eyes following them as they walk
past. Report poor in to several in the paranormal community
that much like Robert the Haunted Doll in Key West, Florida
this ghost does not like having his portraits picture
taken unless you ask his permission first.
Located on e Seawall Blvd. and is the oldest hotel on
Galveston island. One room, room 505, is supposed to be
haunted and most people who stay in that room, do not
stay overnight. Most just feel incredibly uncomfortable
there. You can also smell Gardenias in and around the
room at times.
Many people have had similar experiences and it's to be
expected in an old hotel. Unless you are seeking an experience
beyond our world I would recommend a different hotel,
or at least stay away from the fifth floor!
The Bell Witch is a ghost story from American southern
folklore. The legend of the Bell Witch, also called the
Bell Witch Haunting, revolved around a series of strange
events allegedly experienced by the Bell family of Adams,
Tennessee, between 1817 and 1821
The Bell Witch Cave is a karst cave located in Adams,
Tennessee near where the Bell Farm once stood. The cave
is approximately 490 feet (150 m) long. The cave is privately
owned and tours are given during the summer months and
the month of October.
This cave has been associated with The Bell Witch, a
period of time when the Bell Family was allegedly haunted
by the Bell Witch. The cave has no real connection to
the haunting, however, it is located on property once
owned by the Bell family. Many believe that when the witch
departed, she fled to the sanctuary of this cave.
These events are said to have been witnessed and documented
by hundreds of people, among them future President of
the United States Andrew Jackson, and consequently the
episode represents one of the most famous instances of
paranormal events in history.
The Bell Witch was believed to be Kate Batts, an eccentric
neighbor of John Bell's, who had sued him for cheating
her in a land deal. The stories of land sale conflict
involving Bell do have documentation although neither
case has any connection to Kate Batts.
Other paranormal theories are that the "witch"
was actually a poltergeist or the Bell home had been built
on a Native American burial ground.
The events of the Haunting were used as the basis for
the 2006 film An American Haunting and may have influenced
production of The Blair Witch Project.
According to the legend, the first manifestation of the
haunting occurred in 1817 when John Bell encountered a
strange animal in a cornfield on his property. The animal,
described as having had the body of a dog and the head
of a rabbit, vanished when Bell shot at it. This incident
was quickly followed by a series of strange beating and
gnawing noises manifesting around, and eventually inside,
the Bell residence. After these occurrences, the Bell
children said their bedclothes were being regularly pulled
off and tossed onto the floor by an invisible force.
The family then reported a voice choking and making awful,
low, guttural noises. Betsy Bell, the family's younger
daughter and the only daughter still living at home, was
soon after violently assaulted--her hair pulled and her
face slapped by an invisible force.
These events continued for over a year before John Bell
reported them to his neighbors, James Johnston and his
wife, who later said they witnessed events. At this point,
the strange events experienced by the Bell family became
well known in the Red River community, especially reports
of a voice conversing loudly and clearly, singing, quoting
from the Bible and accurately describing events taking
place miles away.
Another major development in the story is the involvement
of future U.S. President Andrew Jackson, who heard of
the disturbances and decided to observe them in person
On approaching the Bell property, Jackson's entourage
encountered an invisible presence that stopped his wagon
in its tracks. When Jackson acknowledged that the witch
was responsible, the wagon was able to proceed unhindered.
One of the men in Jackson's entourage declared himself
to be a witch tamer who intended to kill the spirit. After
this proclaimation, the man began screaming and contorting
his body. Jackson and his entourage left the Bell property
by midday the following day. He is quoted as later saying,
"I'd rather fight the entire British Army than to
deal with the Bell Witch
65. Fort Leavenworth, Kansas
Bevy of ghosts haunt this base, the oldest continuously
operated military post west of the Mississippi. Many people
have witnessed the ghost of Catherine Sutter walking among
the tombstones of the National Cemetery and on the grounds
of the present Golf Course. Bound for Oregon, she stopped
over at the fort in 1880, with her husband and two children.
One day, her husband sent the children out to collect
firewood, but they never returned. The Sutters stayed
on through the winter, hoping against hope that their
loved ones would be found, and Catherine spent many lonely
hours walking through the snow calling out to her children.
That same year, the distraught woman caught pneumonia
and died. However, her apparition, wearing an old calico
dress and black shawl, is still seen desperately searching
for her lost children. Sometimes she is observed carrying
a lantern, while other times just her voice can be heard,
calling out from the darkness. Another ghost reported
in the cemetery is Chief Joseph, a proud Nez Perce Indian
leader, who was incarcerated here in 1877. Several ghosts
populate the Rookery, the oldest house on the base. The
apparitions of a busy-body old woman, a bushy-haired old
man in a white robe, and an angry young girl disturb residents
trying to sleep in the 162-year-old house. Sheridan House
is haunted by the vengeful spirit of Mrs. Sheridan, wife
of General Philip H. Sheridan. In 1869, he deserted his
wife on her deathbed to go to Chicago on business. A few
doors down, at the Chief of Staff's Quarters, the sounds
of a tea party can be heard coming from the empty parlor.
The presence of a man with a mustache and goatee is occasionally
felt at the McClellan Officer's Quarters. His apparition
has appeared in the fireplace, and his loud footsteps
are heard late at night, stumbling through the house.
The former site of St. Ignatius Chapel is haunted by the
ghost of the priest, who burnt to death in a 1875 fire
that destroyed the building. Father Fred has turned up
at the fireplace, in the kitchen, near a sewing machine
and other places in the new house that was built on the
site. Houses along Sumner Place are haunted by the presence
of a Lady in Black. No one knows what she wants, but she
is very domestic, and is sometimes seen trying to calm
crying children or attempting to help with the dishes.
The ghost of General George Custer has been seen roaming
the first floor of the General's Residence. While still
a colonel, Custer was court-martialed in 1867 for shooting
soldiers who disobeyed him. The hearing was held in the
commanding general's quarters, where Custer was found
guilty and given a year's suspension without pay. Perhaps
the stubborn general wants to lodge an appeal against
the blemish on his record. The men he sacrificed at Little
Big Horn, some of whom are buried here, have also returned.
Their ghostly figures have been reported marching on the
Whaley House, Old Town San Diego. This 1850s brick house
has long been listed as a haunted spot and it lives up to
its ghostly reputation. Both the inside and out is haunted
so even if you don't get to go inside a trip to the place
to walk the grounds. Besides that there is a great Mexican
Restaurant across the street with hand made tortillas. Just
down the street is the old San Diego Cemetery called the
Campo Santo where a number of people have seen ghosts.
At the Whaley House bring a tape recorder for stray ESP
and a good nose for the scent of cigars that is found in
the place. Keep a good eye out in the court room and the
stairway were many people feel a choaking around the neck.
The Music Room and the old master bedroom has many accounts
of ghost sightings. Thomas Whaley in his frock coat haunts
as does his wife and daughter. There is a curious apparition
of a little scotty dog seen inside and out by ghost hunters.
A great place to spend the afternoon. Best time to vist--just
before they close or when they first open.
Chichen Itza (from Yucatec Maya chich'en itza',
"At the mouth of the well of the Itza") is a large
pre-Columbian archaeological site built by the Maya civilization
located in the northern center of the Yucatán Peninsula,
present-day Mexico. Although this was the usual name for
the site in pre-Columbian times, it is also referred to
in the ancient chronicles as Uucyabnal, meaning "Seven
Chichen Itza was a major regional center in the northern
Maya lowlands from the Late Classic through the Terminal
Classic and into the early portion of the Early Postclassic
period. The site exhibits a multitude of architectural styles,
from what is called “Mexicanized” and reminiscent
of styles seen in central Mexico to the Puuc style found
among the Puuc Maya of the northern lowlands. The presence
of central Mexican styles was once thought to have been
representative of direct migration or even conquest from
central Mexico, but most contemporary interpretations view
the presence of these non-Maya styles more as the result
of cultural diffusion.
Archaeological data, such as evidence of burning at a number
of important structures and architectural complexes, suggest
that Chichen Itza's collapse was violent. Following the
decline of Chichen Itza's hegemony, regional power in the
Yucatán shifted to a new center at Mayapan. While
the site itself was never completely abandoned, the population
declined and no major new constructions were built following
its political collapse. The Sacred Cenote, however, remained
a place of pilgrimage.
In 1531 Spanish Conquistador Francisco de Montejo claimed
Chichén Itzá and intended to make it the capital
of Spanish Yucatán, but after a few months a native
Maya revolt drove Montejo and his forces from the land.
Seven courts for playing the Mesoamerican ballgame have
been found in Chichén, but the one about 150 meters
to the north-west of the Castillo is by far the most impressive.
It is the largest ballcourt in ancient Mesoamerica. It measures
166 by 68 meters (545 by 232 feet). The sides of the interior
of the ballcourt are lined with sculpted panels depicting
teams of ball players, with the captain of the losing team
Built into one of the exterior walls of the ballcourt is
the Temple of the Jaguar, which features another jaguar
throne -- since this one was not buried for a thousand years,
its red paint and jade spots are long since gone.
Behind this platform is a walled inscription which depicts
a tzompantli (rack of impaled human skulls) in relief.
Chichen Itza is today a World Heritage Site and is the
second most visited of Mexico’s archaeological sites.
Many visitors to the popular tourist resort of Cancún
make a day trip to Chichen Itza, usually with time to view
only a portion of the site.
Over the past several years, INAH, which manages the site,
has been closing monuments to public access. The most recent
was El Castillo, which was closed after the death of a San
Diego woman in 2006.
According to the American Anthropological Association,
the actual ruins of Chich'en Itza are federal property,
and the site’s stewardship is maintained by Mexico’s
National Institute of Anthropology and History (Instituto
Nacional de Antropología e Historia, INAH). The land
under the monuments, however, is privately-owned by the
68. Resurrection Cemetery, Chicago
Chicago is home to some of the most famous ghosts in
America. Resurrection Mary is a famous ghost story and
is considered by many to be the original hitchhiker ghost
story. It takes place around the Chicago area in Justice,
Illinois. Many travelers down Archer Avenue -- a street
which runs through the city of Chicago -- and its South
Suburbs, have reported seeing a young blonde girl walking
by, some who have seen her have claimed to even have given
her a ride. The girl is said to be very quiet once picked
up and disappears once the driver passes the gates of
Resurrection Cemetery in Justice Illinois.
The very first, first-person account came from Jerry
Palus, a south-side man who recently died. He picked up
a girl at the Liberty Grove and Hall near 47th and Mozart
and danced with her the entire evening. The only strange
thing is that she was very cold to the touch. Later she
asked for a ride home which was somewhere in the Bridgeport
area of Chicago but decided she'd like to go for a ride
past the large Catholic cemetery along Archer Avenue,
Resurrection. As they began to approach the main gates,
she began to act very strangely. She told Jerry to pull
the car off the road and, for some reason, she had to
run toward the cemetery and that Jerry could not follow.
Before he knew what was happening, she darted from the
car, ran towards the main gates but disappeared before
reaching those gates in plain view of Jerry. He then began
to put all of this together and surmised that he had been
with a ghost that evening. On a later visit to the home
of Mary, he was greeted by a woman who told him that her
daughter had been dead for sometime. He even saw a picture
of her sitting on a table and was convinced that she was
the same girl he had been with. However, that was impossible!
The Haunted City site brings together all the information
available on the city's spookiest places, where ghostly
presences are felt and where things actually do go "bump
in the night, and in the day!" Derby Ghosts.
Derby Gaol is a working museum which is open to the public.
It was acquired in 1997 by Richard Felix, paranormal investigator
and dedicated historian who later became famous, as one
of the members of the popular television programme 'Most
Haunted'. Starting at 11pm and finishing at 4am with breakfast,
night vigils at Derby Gaol enable the visitor to get a
real taste of hunting ghosts. A main course meal is included
in the price and there is a bar for those wanting to settle
Room 29 at the Bell Inn, Sadler Gate, which used to be
a hotel, is said to be haunted by young servant girl murdered
by the Jacobite army in 1745.
At the Dolphin Inn, Queen Street, the gas taps in the
cellar are mysteriously, turned off making the staff think
the barrels are empty.
70. The Lemp Mansion
When John Adam Lemp arrived in St. Louis from Eschwege,
Germany in 1838, he seemed no different from the thousands
of other immigrants who poured into the Gateway to the West
during the first half of the 19th century. Lemp originally
sought his fortune as a grocer. But his store was unique
for its ability to supply an item sold by none of his competitors
- lager beer. Lemp had learned the art of brewing the effervescent
beverage under the tutelage of his father in Eschwege, and
the natural cave system under St. Louis provided the perfect
temperature for aging beer. Lemp soon realized that the
future of lager beer in America was as golden as the brew
itself, and in 1840 he abandoned the grocery business to
build a modest brewery at 112 S. Second Street. A St. Louis
industry was born. The brewery enjoyed marvelous success
and John Adam Lemp died a millionaire.
The Lemp Mansion was built in the early 1860's and was
subsequently purchased by William J. Lemp as a residence
and auxiliary brewery office. Although it was already an
impressive structure, Lemp used his massive brewery fortune
to turn the thirty-three room house into a Victorian showplace.
The radiator system was installed in 1884, five years after
radiant heat was patented. The grand staircase was removed
to accommodate an open-air lift that ran the gamut of the
house. The decorative iron gates in the basement restaurant
are all that remain of the elevator. In 1904 the house was
completely renovated. To the left of the main entrance is
the former brewery office, where William Jr. committed suicide.
The decorative mantle is Italian marble.
For many Cairenes the City of the Dead is a mysterious,
foreboding area. Many Cairenes are aware of its existence
but few understand this group of vast cemeteries that stretches
out along the base of the Moqattam Hills.
Cairo is facing a housing problem. The lack of satisfactory
and affordable housing for the rapidly growing population
has forced many poor Egyptians to live in houses amongst
cemeteries called The City of the dead. Among these cemeteries
live a community of Egypt’s urban poor, forming an
illegal but tolerated, separate society. More than five
million Egyptians live in these cemeteries, and have formed
their own enterprises.The population of the City of the
Dead is growing rapidly because of rural migration and its
complicated housing crisis is getting worse.
“There are five major cemeteries in this city there,
the Northern Cemetery, Bab el Nasr Cemetery, the Southern
Cemetery, the Cemetery of the Great, and Bab el Wazir Cemetery,”
The historic belief in Egypt is that the cemeteries are
an active part of the community and not exclusively for
the dead. <amy say the living cannot tell themselves
who is alive and who is dead.
72. Bachelors Grove / Batchelors Grove
There many haunted ghost Bachelors Grove Cemetery stories
and eerie tales and legends told about this , abandoned
cemetery than any other place in the Chicago. It is located
on the edge of the Rubio Woods Forest Preserve, near the
suburb of Midlothian, Illinois. This haunted cemetery
is said to be filled with ghosts. Many Tales of Paranormal
reports of strange phenomena have been collected about
the place. but now it is abandoned and in ruin, but still
very haunted by the living and the dead.
Unexplained World is A Chicago Based Cable
Show by Edward Shannahan, which explores the world of
Hauntings and Ghost. This episodes Looks at the Bachelors
Grove of Chicago
Bachelor's Grove Cemetery - Near Haunted Chicago: Said
to be the most scariest haunted cemetery in the U.S.A.
Bachelor's Grove is located in the suburbs of Chicago.
It gained its name from the number of single young men
buried there during the creation of Illionois-Michigan
Canal. The graveyard was taken out of commission in the
mid 1960's but it still maintains its haunted status.
The Ghost of George Harwell Federman, and Janet Lorraine
Logan or said to be the most seen ghost in the graveyard
and that their tombstones have been removed to keep people
from finding them. They are said to materialize quite
solid and real ... then just disappear before your eyes.
People say the ghost of a child can be heard crying in
the evening hours violently. And that many say it's sounds
too, to real to mark off as an animal or a hoax.
Today, a section of the Cook County Forest Preserve (at
143rd Street and Justamere Road) bears the name Bachelors
Grove in recognition of the early history of the area.
The last remaining section of roadway known as Bachelors
Grove Road, which ran between 135th Street and 143rd Street,
was closed in December 1994. Cook County and the Forest
Preserve District have followed through with their intended
removal of the road, and another reminder of this piece
of local history will completely disappear in time.
Edward Shannahan, explores the world
of Hauntings and Ghost. Part II Bachelors Grove of Chicago
The following was written by Brad L. Bettenhausen, President
of the Tinley Park Historical Society:
The settlement at Batchelors Grove began as early as
the late 1820s, with larger numbers of immigrants arriving
in the 1830s and 1840s. The initial settlers were generally
American "Yankees" of English, Irish, and Scottish
descent, most of whom came here from New York, Vermont,
and Connecticut. The second wave of settlers arriving
from Europe, primarily of Germanic origin, began in the
late 1840s and became the predominate nationality for
immigrants to the area for better than the next fifty
Ghost Photos of actual solid apparitions are common ,
and even glowing balls of light appear in the trees in
broad daylight, unexplained audible ghost sounds. EVP's
have been recorded and many in in the German language.
There have been no burials here for years . But ask any
ghost investigator where to go to find a actual ghost
or real haunting's in chicago,Bachelors Grove will be
Number 1 on their haunted Cemetery list! Access to the
cemetery is gained by way of a narrow road,(The Cemetery
is not open to the public or appears on any haunted Cemetery
tour) many visitors, Investigators to the area have reported
seeing a phantom ghost farmhouse that seems to appear
and disappear at random. The house is always described
in the same way, as a white house with porch pillars,
a swing and a soft light burning in the window, but it
is never reported in the same place. As witnesses approach
the house, it always disappears. A number of completely
independent witnesses have reported the house, not realizing
that it was unnatural (until it vanished) and all of them
have pointed to different locations when they spotted
The house has been reported during both daylight hours
and at night but historical files show no record of a
house ever existing here!
Favorite dumping ground for Chicago gangsters during
the years of Prohibition. A number of bodies were said
to have been found here. Even the turnpike near Bachelor's
Grove is said to be really haunted. For a number of years,
witnesses have reported many a phantom car that always
disappear along this road. Visitors to the cemetery are
advised to go there at their own risk.
Bachelor's Grove Cemetery has often been called the most
haunted graveyard in the Chicago area.
It's infamous nicknames are The Seven Lost Gates of Hell,
The Cemetery of The Damned, Satan's Burial Ground and most
notably The Seventh Gate to Hell. Stull cemetery is often
said to be where Satan the Devil himself holds court with
his lost worshippers.
The devil's only half human haunted child is reported to
be buried here in Haunted Kansas. They say he appears as
a 9 -11 year old boy, he was believed to be able to turn
himself into a dog, a cat or a wolf. Basically a werewolf
or just plain shape shifter. Many stories say he was born
covered with long red hair and a full set of two rows of
double teeth. His story is sad. He was an out cast chained
under the house, and thrown scraps of food like a wild animal,
since he was an infant.
One day when he was about 10 years old he chewed off his
left hand and escaped and tore through the town killing
someone who he met. He was finally killed after a 11 month
killing spree by a lone farmer.
Ghost stories state he was a hermaphrodite. At the spring
and autumn equinoxes evil forces, orbs and lights are suppose
to materialize in this Haunted Cemetery near or over his
grave, which is unmarked.
And don't forget that of Witch a awful lady ghost who is
said to curse at you for stepping on her grave. She is said
to appear as a tall lady with white hair. EVP's of her can
be heard to say "Keep Away From My Bones." and
" Watch Your step." They say she hated her last
husband who is buried next to her and often the soil seems
pushed up where he is buried. Many say she is trying to
get him to move elsewhere.
Stull Cemetery, and the abandoned church that rests next
to it, is located in the tiny, Kansas town of Stull. There
is not much left of the tiny village, save for a few houses,
the newer church and about twenty residents. However, the
population of the place allegedly contains a number of residents
that are from beyond this world!
In addition to its human inhabitants, the town is also
home to a number of Haunted legends and strange tales that
are linked to the crumbling old church and the overgrown
cemetery that can be found atop Stull’s Emmanuel Hill.
These stories have been linked to Stull for more than 100
years. In November 1974, an article appeared in the University
of Kansas student newspaper that spoke of a number of strange
occurrences in the Stull churchyard. According to the article,
Stull was “haunted by diabolical, supernatural happenings”
and the asserted that the cemetery was one of the two places
on earth where the devil appears in person two times each
But such stories have a strong hold on people, as evidenced
by the reaction to the article that claimed that the devil
would appear in Stull Cemetery on the night of the Spring
Equinox and again on Halloween. On March 20, 1978, more
than 150 people waited in the cemetery for the arrival of
the devil. The word also spread that the spirits of those
who died violent deaths, and were buried there, would return
from the grave.
The legends also say that the Devil has been appearing
here since the 1850’s and insist that the original
name of the town was “Skull” and that the later
corruption of that into “Stull” was simply to
cover the fact that the area was steeped in black magic.
It was said that the witchcraft-practicing early settlers
were so repentant about their past deeds that they changed
the name of the town. In truth, the town was called “Deer
Creek Community” until 1899, when the last name of
the first postmaster, Sylvester Stull, was adopted as the
name of the village. The post office closed down in 1903,
but the name stuck.
In 1980, an article appeared in the Kansas City Times,
rumors about Stull Cemetery and the abandoned church. The
article states that the Devil chose two places to appear
on Earth every Halloween. One of them was the “tumbleweed
hamlet” of Stull, Kansas, which occurs simultaneously
at midnight, is someplace on the “desolate plain of
India.” From these sites, according to the article,
the Devil gathers all the people who died violent deaths
over the past year for a prance around the Earth at the
The article adds that he appears in Stull because of an
event that took place in the 1850’s, when “a
stable hand allegedly stabbed the mayor to death in the
cemetery’s old stone barn. Years later, the barn was
converted into a church, which in turn was gutted by fire.
A decaying wooden crucifix that still hands from one wall
is thought to sometimes turn upside-down when passersby
step into the building at midnight...” The story neglects
to mention that, historically speaking, neither the Deer
Creek Community nor Stull have ever had an official mayor.
Author Lisa Hefner Heitz has collected numerous legends
that have added to the mythology of Stull Cemetery. Some
of them include the “fact” that the Devil also
appears at Stull on the last night of winter or the first
night of spring. He comes to visit a witch that is buried
there. Coincidentally, an old tombstone bearing the name
“Wittich” is located fairly close to the old
church. It should also be mentioned that there are rumors
that an old tree in the graveyard, which was cut down a
year or so ago, was once used as a gallows for condemned
witches. There is also said to be a grave in the cemetery
that holds the bones of a “child of Satan”,
who was born of the Devil and a witch. The child was so
deformed that he only lived for a few days and the body
was buried in Stull. Some say that his ghost may walk here,
as there supposedly was a photo taken a few years ago that
shows a “werewolf-like boy” peering out from
behind a tree.
One of the strangest stories about Stull supposedly appeared
in Time magazine in either 1993 or 1995 (depending on the
version you hear). This story claims that Pope John Paul
II allegedly ordered his private plane to fly around eastern
Kansas while on his way to a public appearance in Colorado.
The reason for this, the story claims, was that the Pope
did not want to fly over “unholy ground”.
The legends grew and by 1989, the crowd at the graveyard
on Halloween night had become so overwhelming that the Douglas
County sheriff's department had to station deputies outside
to send people on their way. They handed out tickets for
criminal trespass to anyone caught on the property. It was
believed that nearly 500 people came to the cemetery on
Halloween night of 1988, doing damage to the church and
gravestones, prompting a police response the following year.
As time passed, the local residents grew more irritated
that vandals and trespassers were wreaking havoc in the
cemetery where their loved ones and ancestors were buried.
Finally, a chain link security fence was installed around
the grounds and although the area is still regularly patrolled,
the visits have died down somewhat, at least outside of
October. In addition, there have been the signs posted against
trespassing here and locals have made it clear that visitors
are not welcome.
74. The Lizzie Borden House
Which is now a Bed and Breakfast, may possibly be the most
haunted house in America. The sight of a double murder,
one of the most famous in US history, has produced sightings,
noises and the feeling of a cat walking across them have
all been reported. Lizzie Borden murdered her stepmother
and father in the family's home in Fall River, Massachusetts.
Some people now say the Borden house is haunted.
While there is little doubt that Lizzie committed the crime,
she was acquitted at trial due to a lack of evidence. Although
ostracized by the community, Lizzie lived in the house until
she died on June 1, 1927.
After her death, the house remained a private residence
for several decades before being converted into a bed and
breakfast. Guests are allowed to view the murder scene and
can sleep in Lizzie and her sister Emma's bedrooms, Abby
& Andrew's Bedrooms or the guest Room where Abby was
killed. Martha McGinn, owner and operator, has lived in
the house since her teens. She calls the house "active"
instead of haunted, and believes that the spirits of the
murder victims may inhabit the house.
Cold spots are felt in many of the rooms. People who work
in the house say they have heard many strange sounds, including
voices, a woman crying and unexplained footsteps. Some have
seen indentations - like that of a body lying down - appear
and disappear on the beds. Objects are mysteriously moved
out of place, lights go on and off, and doors and cabinets
have opened on their own.
Guests have reported seeing an "older Victorian woman"
dusting and making the beds in the guest room as Abby was
doing at the time of her death. Still others have reported
being awakened in the night to see this same woman pulling
the covers of the bed over them as though she is tucking
them in. A couple from Connecticut took a photograph in
the sitting room that didn't turn out properly. The photo
was almost entirely black except for the apparition of an
elderly man who looked very much like Andrew Borden.
75. The Haunted Grand Hotel
Jerome, Arizona started out as the United Verde Hospital
in January 1927 and is supposed to be one of the most haunted
buildings in Arizona, due to its days as a hospital and
asylum. Many events are claimed to have occurred on the
site in the past, including various murders, suicides, and
accidental deaths. Occurrences claimed to be common in the
hotel include mysterious elevator activity, footsteps, moaning,
heavy breathing, coughing, doors flying open, and lights
turning on and off by themselves.
Built on the very top of Cleopatra Hill, this huge, 5 story
Spanish Mission-style, building is the highest public building
in the entire Verde Valley. Jerome itself is at 5000 elevation,
and was built on the side of the Mingus mountain, on Cleopatra
Hill overlooking the Verde Valley, about a 15 minute drive
up from the valley floor, and about 20 miles from the once
large, profitable copper mine, which was why the town of
Jerome was built in the first place in 1876. The building
was made of concrete, poured in place on a 50 degree slope,
and still is considered an engineering feat to this day.
For more of the top 100
places to see a real ghost and have a Paranormal Encounter.
Please visit here!
Some of these Top 100 Most allegedly haunted
places are known for their haunted cemeteries, houses, buildings,
Roads, hotels, & battlefields and churches. And in some
cases a city may be listed and in other spots a haunted
hot spot. Please feel free to use this as a Paranormal
Travel Guide when planning your next haunted destination
ghost hunt or vacation. There are literally thousands of
haunted places around the world, and this list only compiles
a small number of them.
So please read these very haunted ghost stories
and watch a real ghost video or two. And be sure to visit
America Tours Home Page
to find more then your heart should take. This web site
is not for the squeamish. These Very real Haunted places
are sid to be the best places to capture a real ghost on
film, video, or digital voice recorder or have a real paranormal
HAUNTED AMERICA TOURS Official Web Site is
a ghost tour information site; our information is only as
reliable as readers' contributed ghost and haunted reports.
We assume no credit for your adventures, and accept no liability
for your misadventures. Use common sense. Read our ghost
hunting recommendations. Before visiting any "haunted"
site, verify the location, accessibility, safety, and other
important information. Never trespass on private and/or
posted property without permission from the proper authorities.
Unexplained ghost photos you want to see!
The condition, pareidolia,
is a condition that causes someone to recognize human faces
or forms in random patterns. Is this just what some of our ghost
reported real ghost photos just might well be.
Visit True Ghost Tales and Ghost Photos
to read real true ghost stories sent in by readers like you
site is being developed for the paranormal enthusiast seeking
a home turf haunted adventure. Our skilled staff is busily assembling
a wide and varied selection of tantalizing destinations -- from
slightly off the beaten path to certifiably haunted! We have enlisted
the skills of numerous paranormal investigative organizations
and independent psychics to seek out the famous and the infamous:
whatever your fascination, be it ghosts, vampires, werewolves,
haunted places -- Haunted America Tours is the expert choice to
begin your adventure.