- Information on Ghost, Hauntings and Stories of the Unexplained!
America Tours Warning: include(): http:// wrapper is disabled in the server configuration by allow_url_include=0 in /home/america4ghost/public_html/ghosthunting/hauntedcities/StAugustine.php on line 40
Warning: include(http://www.hauntedamericatours.com/phpmenu/main_menu.php): failed to open stream: no suitable wrapper could be found in /home/america4ghost/public_html/ghosthunting/hauntedcities/StAugustine.php on line 40
Warning: include(): Failed opening 'http://www.hauntedamericatours.com/phpmenu/main_menu.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/america4ghost/public_html/ghosthunting/hauntedcities/StAugustine.php on line 40
Haunted America Tours Copyright 2011 - All rights reserved. Content is not to be copied, extracted, or reproduced in any form.
Paranormal Landscape ~ One Page At A Time!"
By entering this hauntedamericatours.com - Haunted America Tours web site, in exchange for use of this web site, you the user hereby agree to the following:
The content of this web site is for mature viewers only and may not be suitable for minors. If you are a minor or it is illegal for you to view nudity or mature images and language, do not proceed.
This site is presented to you AS IS, with no warranty, express or implied. By clicking "I Agree" and then viewing our site, you agree not to hold the webmaster and staff of this site hauntedamericatours.com - Haunted America Tours liable for any damages from your use of these pages.
As a condition of using this site, you must fully read and understand, and comply with the rules of this site, which may be located by following the "Rules" link on the home page hauntedamericatours.com - Haunted America Tours.
Paranormal Ghost filled tales of voodoo - hoodoo and zombies, Bigfoot, El chupacabra, Banshee's, witches, ghost hunting Cemeteries, the undead, the dead, Cryptids, Vampires, ghouls , Monsters, Ufo's, Haunted Locations, Haunted Buildings, People and objects, Paranormal Phenomena and strange Urban Legends perpetrate a type of folklore or "Fakelore," endlessly circulated by word of mouth through generations, repeated in television news stories, Documentaries, Radio Talk shows, Newspapers, Blogs, magazine articles and distributed by e-mail.
hauntedamericatours.com is not responsible for the views or content expressed by individuals in their articles we post them as is, be warned some may contain adult theme language, video or images.
Yes they are even often found on many web sites such as this one. Please be fore warned, that not everything you read is the truth! This site is expressly for entertainment purposes only. Disclaimer: Domain owner maintains no relationship with third party advertisers. Reference to any specific service or trademark is not controlled by domain owner and does not constitute or imply its association, endorsement or recommendation.
And such is the Tales of all that is paranormal in the World.
DID YOU FIND WHAT YOUR SEARCHING FOR? IF NOT SEARCH OUR SITE AND LEARN
MORE ABOUT THE MOST HAUNTED SCARIEST PLACES IN THE WORLD HERE.
Taken from first-person accounts and historical documents, this book chronicles more than 300 examples of alien encounters, conspiracy theories, and the influence of extraterrestrials on human events throughout history. Investigating claims of visits from otherworldly creatures, aliens living among us, abductions of humans to alien spacecraft, and accounts of interstellar cooperation since the UFO crash in Roswell, this discussion of the theories and mysteries surrounding aliens is packed with thought-provoking stories and shocking revelations of alien involvement in the lives of Earthling
Warning: include(): http:// wrapper is disabled in the server configuration by allow_url_include=0 in /home/america4ghost/public_html/phpincludes/sidemenu.php on line 473
Warning: include(http://www.hauntedamericatours.com/phpincludes/top10mostread.php): failed to open stream: no suitable wrapper could be found in /home/america4ghost/public_html/phpincludes/sidemenu.php on line 473
Warning: include(): Failed opening 'http://www.hauntedamericatours.com/phpincludes/top10mostread.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/america4ghost/public_html/phpincludes/sidemenu.php on line 473
Lee N. Pallas's Top Ten
Haunted Places in St. Augustine, Florida
Lee N. Pallas Points to where the Apopinax
Tree once stood
Lee N. Pallas is the manager of the
Ghost Tours of St. Augustine. The
Ghost tours of St. Augustine started
in April 1994. Lee has been involved
with paranormal research and story
telling for over 6 years in Nation's
The Ghost Tours of St. Augustine have
been featured on the Discovery Channel,
History Channel, and A&E. We are
constantly involving ourselves with
new ventures. Television, Radio, and
books. The Ghost Tours of St. Augustine
will be opening a new tour involving
the original wax museum. The first
wax museum in the United States. “POTTERS
St. Augustine is a city
in St. Johns County, Florida, in the
United States. It is the oldest continuously
occupied European-established city
in the continental United States.
St. Augustine lies in a region of
Florida known as The First Coast,
which extends from Amelia Island in
the north, south to Jacksonville,
St. Augustine and Palm Coast. There
are many places that are haunted here
in St Augustine, Florida. I feel that
I have personally experienced the
most paranormal activity in the following.
Some of the most noted
and haunted buildings in the district
are located on the Plaza de la Constitución,
the colonial community's focal point.
Here are found the Government House
(governor's residence, built 1713),
Trinity Episcopal Church (1825), and
the Basilica Cathedral of St. Augustine
which incorporates the 1797 parish
church and is one of the oldest Catholic
religious buildings in the U.S.
1. The Castillo de
San Marcos "The Fort"
A monument not only
of stone and mortar but of human determination
and endurance, the Castillo de San
Marcos symbolizes the clash between
cultures which ultimately resulted
in our uniquely unified nation. The
Castillo de San Marcos is a Spanish
built fort located in the city of
St. Augustine, Florida. It was known
as Fort Marion from 1821 until 1942,
and Fort St. Mark from 1763 until
1784 while under British control.
The city of St. Augustine
was founded in 1565. Over the next
one hundred years, the city was defended
by nine wooden forts. Following the
1668 attack of the English pirate
Robert Searle, it was decided by the
Queen Regent of Spain, Mariana, that
a masonry fortification be constructed
to protect the city. In October 1672
construction began on the fort that
would become the Castillo de San Marcos.
In 1900, the fort was
taken off of the active duty rolls
after 205 years of service, under
five different flags. In 1924, the
fort was designated a National Monument
and in 1933 it was transferred to
the National Park Service from the
War Department. In 1942, in honor
of its Spanish heritage the name of
the fort was changed back to the Castillo
de San Marcos. As an historic property
of the National Park Service, the
National Monument was listed on the
National Register of Historic Places
on October 15, 1966. The fort is co-managed
with Fort Matanzas National Monument.
In 1975, the Castillo was designated
an Historic Civil Engineering Landmark
by the American Society of Civil Engineers.
In January, 1861, Florida
seceded from the United States in
the opening months of the American
Civil War. Union troops had withdrawn
from the fort, leaving only one man
behind as caretaker of the fort. In
January 1861, Confederate troops marched
on the fort. The Union soldier manning
the fort refused to surrender it unless
he was given a receipt for it from
the Confederacy. He was given the
receipt and the fort was taken by
the Confederacy without a shot. Most
of the artillery in the fort was then
sent to other forts, leaving the fort
Since being transferred to the Park
Service, the Castillo has been a tourist
attraction occupying 2.5 acres (101,000
m²) in downtown St. Augustine.
Tolomato Catholic Cemetery
The Tolomato cemetery
was started during the British period
as a burial place for Menorcians.
Later it became a general Catholic
cemetery. Many famous St. Augustine
residents were buried there including
Father Camps, Father Verela, Bishop
Jean Verot, and General Jorge Biassou.
The site was the location of Nuestra
Senora de Guadalupe de Tolomato, a
church, for the mission of the Tolomato
Indians from Georgia. Before the British
arrived it was used by German immigrants
for a church.
Two hundred years ago
Doña Rita Morales died and
was buried in the cemetery on the
outskirts of St. Augustine, then the
capital of the Spanish colony of East
Florida. She was of some prominence,
her husband was Commandant of the
Cuban regiment garrisoned in Castillo
de San Marcos, but her 14-year old
grandson only knew that his grandmother,
his “second mother” as
he called her, was the second mother
that death had taken from him in his
In 1802, to identify the cemetery
as Catholic in this 237-year old Catholic
city, would be redundant. It was,
and still is, called Tolomato, the
original name given to the Native
American village located on that site
long before Pedro Menendez claimed
the nearby land for God and country
in 1565. Over the next half century,
Tolomato Cemetery would no longer
be on the outskirts of the city. Without
moving, it was embraced by St. Augustine’s
expanding boundaries. By this time,
the city also had wrapped its arms
around the saintly man the 14-year
old grief-stricken boy had become
– Father Félix Varela.
A living legend to his Cuban compatriots,
this amazingly accomplished, yet unpretentious
priest, forced to live in exile, had
come back to St. Augustine, now part
of the United States, to die and be
buried in Tolomato Cemetery beside
Doña Rita Morales.
The Huguenot Cemetery
was established soon after Florida
became a U. S. territory. The cemetery,
located just outside St. Augustine's
north gate, was first used for the
interment of victims of the 1821 yellow
fever epidemic and then for the burial
of members of city's Protestant population.
The cemetery property was acquired
by the Rev. Thomas Alexander and then
sold to the Presbyterian Church in
1832. By the late 19th century, over-crowding
of graves, and the resulting concerns
for sanitation and public health,
required that the small public and
religious burying grounds in St. Augustine
be closed. New cemeteries, such as
San Lorenzo and Evergreen, were subsequently
opened to parishioners and the public.
This real Florida haunted
cemetery formerly was the Potters
field, where ex-communicants and military
criminals were buried; the dates on
the tombs are not very ancient, 1821
being the oldest, but very many of
the graves bear no inscription; the
nature of the place in its earliest
days would not lead to a perpetuation
of the memory of those interred there;
the spot is worth inspection.
The Huguenot Cemetery is significant
because it was the first cemetery
in St. Augustine dedicated for Anglo-American
civilians. The burial traditions and
funerary materials expressed at Huguenot,
compared with the nearby Tolomato
Cemetery (established by the Catholic
Church in 1777), demonstrate both
the differences and commonalties in
funerary practices and religious attitudes
of two distinct groups residing in
19th century St. Augustine. The gravemarkers
at Huguenot Cemetery display a range
of funerary art popular in the 19th
century, including false box tombs
with inscribed ledgers and finely
carved headstones by highly skilled
stone carvers in vogue during the
1820s-40s, and the more elaborate
monuments that were favored during
the Victorian period. The work of
several important stone carvers in
the southeastern United States has
been identified at the cemetery, including
Thomas Walker and members of the White
family who had shops in Charleston,
South Carolina and Savannah, Georgia.
The Concerns: The Presbyterian Church
has owned the Huguenot Cemetery since
1832. After the cemetery was closed
to burials in 1884, the church continued
maintenance of the grounds, and some
efforts of restoration were made in
1946 and again in 1951. However, it
eventually became necessary to keep
the entrance gates locked and restrict
visitation to the site. While the
burial site was relatively secure
from vandalism and theft, natural
weathering and deterioration of the
In 1989 the Cemetery Restoration
Committee of Memorial Presbyterian
Church was formed. It initiated a
program to document the Huguenot Cemetery's
gravemarkers and research genealogical
information about those who are buried
there. In 1990, participants in the
Preservation Institute: Caribbean
made measured drawings of the more
significant gravestones and box tombs
at the cemetery. In 1991-92 the Restoration
Committee was successful in obtaining
a survey & planning grant from
the Bureau of Historic Preservation,
Division of Historical Resources to
develop a master preservation plan
for the cemetery. The Plan's recommendations
were adopted by the Committee and,
as funds could be raised, work began
on those funerary markers determined
to have a high priority for restoration.
4. Saint George Street
The practice of giving
every street its own name is relatively
recent. For most of the colonial period,
the thoroughfares of St. Augustine
were known simply as "the street
of the Hospital", or "the
street that goes to the barracks".
During t he first Spanish Period (1565-1763)
the present St. George Street was
known as "the street of the governor",
or "the street that goes to the
land gate". It was not until
the British came (1763) that it was
named St. George in honor of King
George III." [S t. Augustine
and the Beaches", May-June 1995,
Events magazine, The St. Augustine
Record, St. Augustine
Bisecting the Plaza
south and north is St. George Street,
and the Old City Gates, the main street
of the colonial city. Here one can
find many other historic buildings
such as De Mesa-Sanchez House (43
St. George Street), the Arrivas House
(44 St. George), and the Avero House,
now the St. Photios Greek Shrine (37
In the seventeenth and
early eighteenth century, St. George
Street was known as San Patricio Street.
1702 - Thirty-one houses were destroyed
by the Spanish commander as a strategy
to control the Raid of 1702. Many
of these houses were in the northern
portion of St. George Street. Before
leaving, the English burned the rest
of the town destroying 118 additional
5. Treasury Street
Treasury Street is one
of the curiosities of the town commencing
at Bay street it is so very narrow
that two people can shake hands across
it; proceeding westward it gradually
widens until where it runs into Cordova
street it is a respectable width.
TREASURY STREET, ST.
AUGUSTINE, FLA.- 45. 7 FEET WIDE,
NARROWEST STREET IN THE U.S.A.
Haunted buildings line
the street resting on the remains
of a St Augustine long since dead.
Some saya man real ghostly encounters
happen here at night.
College " The Ponce de Leon hotel
Flagler College, often
abbreviated as Flagler, is a private
four-year liberal arts college in
St. Augustine, Florida, USA.
Mr. H. M. Flagler decided
to build a winter hotel in St. Augustine;
in 1885 the Ponce de Leon was commenced,
it was completed in 1887. This magnificent
pile is so well known, its broad columned
loggias, superb decorations and tasteful
furnishings, are of such world-wide
reputation, that no further description
is necessary; and, indeed, the same
remark applies to Mr. Flagler's other
hotels, the Alcazar and the Cordova,
the former of which was built subsequently,
while the latter was purchased from
Mr. F. W. Smith. These three splendid
structures, with their gardens of
palm and other tropical trees and
shrubs, their fountains and broad
asphalt pavements, tile roofs and
Moorish architecture, form a "coup
d'œil" which must be see
to be appreciated, as must the luxuriousness
and comfort of their interiors. The
Cordova building has received some
alterations since it was built, the
lower story having been converted
into large roomy stores with modern
plate glass fronts.
The college has been named in recent
years by US News & World Report
as one of the southeast region's best
comprehensive liberal arts colleges
, and is included on its list of "America's
The school is located on 19 acres,
the centerpiece of which is the Ponce
de Leon Hall, built in 1888 as a luxury
hotel. The architects were John Carrere
and Thomas Hastings, working for Henry
Morrison Flagler, the industrialist,
oil magnate and railroad pioneer.
It is now listed on the National Register
of Historic Places.
7. The Lightner Museum " The
In 1883, Henry Flagler
(Oil Tycoon) came to the city. He
was so impressed that he invested
in St. Augustine's restoration and
development of the city as a winter
resort. Flagler contributed some of
the cities grandest architecture,
such as the Alcazar hotel (now the
Lightner Museum), the Cordova, and
the Ponce de Leon (now Flagler College).
Housed in the former
Hotel Alczar, built in 1888 by Henry
Flagler, relics of America's Gilded
Age are elegantly exhibited on the
museum's three floors. You will marvel
in the elegance of the newly restored
ballroom. And it's said to be very
8. The Plaza de Constionial
" The Plaza"
The real haunted heart
of St. Augustine retains the distinctive
plan of a 16th century Spanish Colonial
walled town, much of which has been
preserved or restored. The numerous
remaining colonial buildings circling
the Plaza in the historic district
present an impressive array of architecture
from 1703 to 1898. The Oldest House,
located three blocks south of the
Plaza at 14 St. Francis Street, is
another traditional Spanish Colonial
residence built circa 1706 and is
the oldest surviving residence in
the city's history. This area south
of the Plaza is the oldest part of
St. Augustine, and there are several
other original structures along narrow
St. Francis, St. George, Aviles, and
Marine Streets. Many are private residences,
but some are open to the public.
The Spanish Monument
in the Plaza was erected, as the plate
on it says, in commemoration of the
adoption of the Spanish Constitution
in 1812, and is the only memorial
of that event left, all the rest having
been destroyed on the downfall of
Some of the most noted haunted buildings
in the district are located on the
Plaza de la Constitución, the
colonial community's focal point.
Here are found the Government House
(governor's residence, built 1713),
Trinity Episcopal Church (1825), and
the Basilica Cathedral of St. Augustine
which incorporates the 1797 parish
church and is one of the oldest Catholic
religious buildings in the U.S.
Many call them "The
portal through time" or "
the door way to the other side".
Many haunted ghost photos happen here
and those that sensitive to ghosts
and the paranormal often say they
feel like someone unseen has touched
them. Some say it is a area with a
high vortex. or just a spot where
the dead of St Augustine go to crossover
to the other side.
A Spanish watchtower,
built in the late 1500's was the predecessor
of the present St. Augustine Lighthouse.
St Augustine is the site of the oldest
aid to navigation in North America.
The original watchtower became Florida's
first lighthouse in 1824. However,
by 1870, the tower was threatened
by shoreline erosion and construction
began on the current lighthouse. The
new tower was completed in 1874. The
old tower succumbed to the sea during
a storm in 1880.
The Old Lighthouse,
built by the Spanish and added to
by the British, was washed away by
the sea in June 1880; the debris still
strew the beach.
The New Lighthouse, built by
the government, is one of the finest
on the coast, from its summit a grand
panorama of sea and land, of river
and foliage, and of the town with
its grey old fort and its modern towers
and domes delights the eye and repays
the visitor for the toilsome ascent.
The view over the government reservation,
the golf links of St. Augustine, from
the Palmetto Hotel, including as it
does the gates and fort, with the
river and ocean in the distance, and
the old, so called, Huguenot Cemetery
with its somber cedar foliage in the
foreground is very fine.
Constructed of Alabama brick and
Philadelphia iron, the lighthouse
is St. Augustine's oldest surviving
brick structure. In 1876, a brick
light keeper's house was added to
the site. Light keepers' and their
assistants lived and worked there
until the tower was automated in 1955.
The St. Augustine Lighthouse rises
165 feet above sea level and contains
219 steps. At the top, a first order
Fresnel lens serves the beacon. The
St. Augustine lens consists of 370
hand-cut glass prisms arranged in
a beehive shape towering twelve feet
tall and six feet in diameter.
In 1980, the Junior Service League
of St. Augustine, Inc. began a fifteen-year
campaign to restore the keeperís
house that was destroyed by fire in
1970 and the tower. The house was
opened to the public as a museum in
1988. In 1993, the tower was also
opened to visitors on a daily basis.
In July 2002 the U.S. Coast Guard,
through the General Services Administration,
transferred the deed for the tower
to the St. Augustine Lighthouse and
Museum, Inc. through the pilot program
of the National Historic Lighthouse
Preservation Act of 2000. In addition,
the Coast Guard turned over the first
order Fresnel lens to the museum.
In 1807, recognizing
need to chart the coastal waters of
this country President Thomas Jefferson
compelled Congress to create the Survey
of the Coast. Known today as the National
Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
(NOAA) Survey of the Coast charted
then nation’s ports and waterways,
researched physical characteristics
of the ocean bottom and explored many
of the world’s oceans.
In recognition of this landmark 200th
anniversary, NOAA and the Smithsonian
Institution Traveling Exhibition Service
(SITES) have created the exhibit,
“From Sea to Shining Sea: 200
years of Charting America’s
Coasts,” which opens June 21
at the St. Augustine Lighthouse and
Museum and 199 other venues nationwide.
The light house was featured on the
third season of TAPS, Sci-fi's Ghost
hunters revealing some startling real
ghost video footage.
Prior to the construction
of what is known as the Bridge of
Lions, an old wooden toll bridge built
in 1895, served as the only access
to Anastasia Island from downtown
St. Augustine. After major renovations
in 1904, the wood bridge accommodated
an electric trolley line. Due to the
increase in automobile traffic and
a desire to remove an "eyesore",
work began in 1925 to build a modern,
high-quality bridge that would complement
The present Bridge of Lions opened
to traffic in 1927 and connects the
historic downtown business district
with Anastasia Island. The bascule
drawbridge opens to allow the passage
of commercial and recreational boats.
In 1982, the Bridge was listed on
the National Register of Historic
Excerpt from Wylie, H. S. "The
Modern Town" St. Augustine Under
Three Flags, Record Press, St. Augustine,
This award winning
tour, recently voted #1 Guided Tour
in Florida by the readers of Florida
Living Magazine and is featured on
the Discovery and Travel Channels,
A Ghostly Experience is held every
night of the year, including all holidays,
and we also have other seasonal and
private tours available.
AUGUSTINE, FLORIDA Attractions : Historical
Sites and Museums
Potter's Wax Museum
In the heart of historic Saint Augustine,
Florida, discover America's first
and finest wax museum. Over 160 wax
Spanish Military Hospital Museum
Visit the Spanish Military Hospital
Museum and learn of the advanced medical
practices of the Spanish in Colonial
times or tour the haunted streets
of St. Augustine on A Ghostly Encounter.
School and Tour groups welcome!
Colonial Spanish Quarter
The Colonial Spanish Quarter is a
living history museum. Costumed interpreters
relive a time when St. Augustine was
a remote outpost of the Spanish Empire.
The Colonial Spanish Quarter illustrates
the life of Spanish soldiers and their
families in 1740 St. Augustine.
Fort Matanzas National Monument
Fort Matanzas represents a well-preserved
masonry fort built by the Spanish
between 1740 and 1742. The tall tower
provided a perch to observe vessels
approaching St. Augustine from the
south, and the cannon blocked potential
enemy advancement via the Matanzas
River, the backdoor to St. Augustine.
The fort at Matanzas National Monument
is open to the public via ferry.
Fountain of Youth
The Fountain of Youth Park in St.Augustine,
FL, marks the spot where Spanish explorer
Ponce de Leon landed in 1513. Visitors
can stroll the gardens, see exhibits
and drink from the legendary fountain.
Relics of America's Gilded Age are
elegantly exhibited on the museum's
three floors. Costumes, furnishings,
mechanical musical instruments and
other artifacts give you a glimpse
into 19th century daily life.
Mission of Nombre de Dios
The Mission of Nombre de Dios traces
its origins to the founding of the
City of St. Augustine, America’s
oldest city, in 1565. Offering walking
tours and spiritual reflection.
Old Florida Museum
This entertaining "Hands On"
museum allows guests to actually participate
in daily living activities from pre-European
times to 1926.
Old St. Augustine Village
Old St. Augustine Village is a collection
of nine historic houses spanning the
period 1790 to 1910. Explore the five
Ripley's Believe It Or Not Museum
If you have an interest in the strange,
unusual, interesting, odd and just
plain weird, well, you've certainly
come to the right place!
St. Augustine Lighthouse
Tour Florida's historic St. Augustine
Lighthouse, explore our museum of
maritime history, learn about our
underwater archaeology program and
take home souvenirs from our gift
The Castillo de San Marcos
The Castillo was made a National Monument
in 1924 and became part of the National
Park system in 1933. The park consists
of the original historic Castillo
fortress itself with its attendant
grounds, some 25 total acres.
The Oldest House
The González-Alvarez House
is the oldest surviving Spanish Colonial
dwelling in Florida. The site has
been occupied since the 1600s and
the present house dates to the early
Also visit Old Fort
Matanzas stands at the inlet of the
same name; the date of its building
is 1741; it is a pleasant sail of
about eighteen miles from St. Augustine.
At Matanzas, too, is a shell mound
which covers some thirty acres of
ground and which is well worthy of
a visit. The defense of St. Augustine
in 1763, as described by John Bartram
in his work on Florida, were:—a
line of earthworks surmounted by several
rows of Spanish bayonets and a broad
moat ran from the fort to the San
Sebastian. On this line were placed
the gates at the end of St. George
street, a battery on the San Sebastian
and two intermediate batteries, one
of which was situated at the end of
the present Cordova Street, and this
was entirely removed in making the
entrance to the San Marco Hotel; the
remains of the other two are still
extant. A line of the same earthwork
and moat ran southerly where Cordova
street now runs to a point nearly
opposite the Post Cemetery, thence
it ran east and connected with the
Matanzas; of this no trace remains.
A battery was located on either side
of the mouth of the Maria Sanchez
Creek and both are now plainly visible.
Several batteries were placed at the
Indian crossings of the San Sebastian;
one, a little south of Ferry street,
can still be traced. An outer line
of the same nature as that described
ran from the San Sebastian River to
the Indian village of Topiqui, where
is the site of the old Catholic Cemetery
in the North City, seven minutes'
walk from the gates; here are the
ruins of the old chapel, which was
built on the foundations of the ancient
Indian church described by John Bartram
as having a handsome tower. Another
line constructed in the same manner
as the inner ones ran from the Sebastian,
at the place where the "Horn
Bridge" crosses the river, to
Fort Moosa. Fort Moosa was a coquina
fort having four bastions and a moat.
It was built on the Moosa (now called
Moses) creek, at a spot about three
quarters of a mile east of the Cremator
and about two miles from St. Augustine.
This historic spot is marked by coquina
foundations, but the walls and watch
tower are leveled and the well is
filled up. Such, together with the
fort, is a brief sketch of the defenses
which kept at bay Palmer, Oglethorpe
and McIntosh, and for the want of
which the inhabitants of St. Augustine
had to leave their homes and take
refuge in the fort in 1702 when col.
Daniels marched against the place
and when Governor Moore burnt it.
The old ruins are worth visiting,
recalling, as they do, the past struggles
between our forefathers and the Spaniards.
The Fort is accessible
only by guided boat tours. Hiking
trails are available on the barrier
top 100 places to see a real ghost
and have a Paranormal Encounter.
Please visit here!
Some of these Top
100 Most allegedly haunted places
are known for their haunted cemeteries,
houses, buildings, Roads, hotels,
& battlefields and churches.
And in some cases a city may be
listed and in other spots a haunted
hot spot. Please feel free to use
this as a Paranormal Travel
Guide when planning your next
haunted destination ghost hunt or
vacation. There are literally thousands
of haunted places around the world,
and this list only compiles a small
number of them.
So please read these
very haunted ghost stories and watch
a real ghost video or two. And be
sure to visit our Haunted
America Tours Home
find more then your heart should
take. This web site is not for the
squeamish. These Very real Haunted
places are sid to be the best places
to capture a real ghost on film,
video, or digital voice recorder
or have a real paranormal encounter.
HAUNTED AMERICA TOURS
Official Web Site is a ghost tour
information site; our information
is only as reliable as readers'
contributed ghost and haunted reports.
We assume no credit for your adventures,
and accept no liability for your
misadventures. Use common sense.
Read our ghost hunting recommendations.
Before visiting any "haunted"
site, verify the location, accessibility,
safety, and other important information.
Never trespass on private and/or
posted property without permission
from the proper authorities.
The Real Haunted
Hotels In Cities, America
Hotels, like airlines, overbook reservations
because they know that not everyone
is going to show up. But some of their
inventory goes to third-party travel
sites like TravelNola.com,
which contract with hotels ahead of
time to sell a preset block of rooms.
Book your haunted
Montgomery - Tutwiler Hotel
Skagway - Golden North Hotel
Eureka Springs - Crescent Hotel
Flagstaff - Monte Vista Hotel
Douglas - Gadsden Hotel
Phoenix - Hotel San Carlos
Prescott - Hotel Vendome; Hassayampa
Scottsdale - The Hermosa Inn
Carmel-by-the-Sea - La Playa Hotel
Coloma - Sierra Nevada House
Coronado - Hotel del Coronado
Grass Valley - Holbrooke Hotel
Groveland - Groveland Hotel
Healdsburg - Madrona Manor
Hollywood - Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel
La Jolla - Grande Colonial Hotel
Long Beach - Queen Mary Hotel
Mendocino - Mendocino Hotel and Garden
Napa - Napa River Inn
San Jose - Hyatt Hotel St. Claire
Mendocino's Sea Rock Inn
San Luis Obispo - Paso Robles Inn
Santa Monica - Georgian Hotel
Ventura - Pierpont Inn
Denver - Brown Palace Hotel
Estes Park - Stanley Hotel
Griswald - Homespun Farm
New London - Lighthouse Inn
St. Augustine - Casa de la Paz
Tampa/St. Petersburg - Don Cesar Beach
Resort and Spa
Augusta - The Partridge Inn
Jekyll Island - Jekyll Island Club
St. Charles - Hotel Baker
Bentonsport - Mason House Inn
New Orleans - 1891 Castle Inn; Hotel
Maison de Ville; Le Pavilion; Delta
St. Francisville - Myrtles Plantation
Boston - The Omni Parker House
Salem - The Hawthorne Hotel
Marquette - The Landmark Inn
Natchez - Monmouth Plantation
Bolton Landing - The Sagamore
Grand Island - Holiday Inn
Asheville - Grove Park Inn Resort
Chapel Hill - Carolina Inn
Cincinnati - Hilton Cincinnati Netherland
Portland - The Heathman Hotel
Bethlehem - Hotel Bethlehem
Gettysburg - Farnsworth House Inn
San Antonio - Menger Hotel
Galvez Hotel - Galveston
Manchester Village - The Equinox
San Juan Islands - Rosario Resort
Omni Shoreham Hotel; Hay-Adams Hotel;
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Fond du Lac - Ramada Plaza Hotel
Milwaukee - Pfister Hotel
Casper - Ivy House Inn
Cheyenne - The Plains Hotel
Jackon Hole - The Wort Hotel
is a ghost
a new landscape
is a continuous
on a regular
see a ghost
- if you received email that says its from "hauntedamericatours.com",
and has attachments, do not open them. They are not from Haunted
AmericaTours.com. hauntedamericatours.com never emails attachments
YOU SHOULD NEVER - EVER - OPEN EMAIL ATTACHMENTS!
[PLEASE NOTE: The articles released, posted,
published OR issued by haunredamericatours.com and/orhaunted America
Tours. Any errors, typos, etc. are attributed to the original author.
The Articles releasse or reproduced solely for the dissemination
of the enclosed information.]
Haunted America Tours does not send spam,
and will not sell your email address to anyone. Haunted America
Tours does not support or endorse any myspace.com pages including
spoof myspace pages claiming to be Haunted America Tours. If you
receive a friends request or any other contact regarding Haunted
America Tours on Myspace please disregard as we DO NOT maintain
any presence on myspace or any other Internet blogging sites.